Loading...
HomeMy WebLinkAbout08-24-2026 CHC Agenda Packet Cultural Heritage Committee AGENDA Monday, August 24, 2026, 5:30 p.m. Council Chambers, 990 Palm Street, San Luis Obispo The Cultural Heritage Committee holds in-person meetings. Zoom participation will not be supported at this time. Attendees of City Council or Advisory Body meetings are eligible to receive one hour of complimentary parking; restrictions apply, visit Parking for Public Meetings for more details. INSTRUCTIONS FOR PUBLIC COMMENT: Public Comment prior to the meeting (must be received 3 hours in advance of the meeting): Mail - Delivered by the U.S. Postal Service. Address letters to the City Clerk's Office at 990 Palm Street, San Luis Obispo, California, 93401. Email - Submit Public Comments via email to advisorybodies@slocity.org. In the body of your email, please include the date of the meeting and the item number (if applicable). Emails will not be read aloud during the meeting. Voicemail - Call (805) 781-7164 and leave a voicemail. Please state and spell your name, the agenda item number you are calling about, and leave your comment. Verbal comments must be limited to 3 minutes. Voicemails will not be played during the meeting. *All correspondence will be archived and distributed to members, however, submissions received after the deadline may not be processed until the following day. Public Comment during the meeting: Meetings are held in-person. To provide public comment during the meeting, you must be present at the meeting location. Electronic Visual Aid Presentation. To conform with the City's Network Access and Use Policy, Chapter 1.3.8 of the Council Policies & Procedures Manual, members of the public who desire to utilize electronic visual aids to supplement their oral presentation must provide display-ready material to the City Clerk by 12:00 p.m. on the day of the meeting. Contact the City Clerk's Office at cityclerk@slocity.org or (805) 781-7114. Pages 1.CALL TO ORDER Chair Tischler will call the Regular Meeting of the Cultural Heritage Committee to order. 2.PUBLIC COMMENT FOR ITEMS NOT ON THE AGENDA The public is encouraged to submit comments on any subject within the jurisdiction of the Cultural Heritage Committee that does not appear on this agenda. Although the Committee will not take action on items presented during the Public Comment Period, the Chair may direct staff to place an item on a future agenda for discussion. 3.CONSENT Matters appearing on the Consent Calendar are expected to be non- controversial and will be acted upon at one time. A member of the public may request the Cultural Heritage Committee to pull an item for discussion. The public may comment on any and all items on the Consent Agenda within the three-minute time limit. 3.a CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES - JULY 27, 2026 CULTURAL HERITAGE COMMITTEE MINUTES 5 Recommendation: To approve the Cultural Heritage Committee Minutes of July 27, 2026. 4.PUBLIC HEARINGS Note: The action of the Cultural Heritage Committee is a recommendation to the Community Development Director, another advisory body, or to City Council and, therefore, is not final and cannot be appealed. 4.a REVIEW OF THE REQUEST TO DESIGNATE THE PROPERTY AT 771 TORO STREET AS A LANDMARK HISTORIC RESOURCE ON THE CITY’S INVENTORY OF HISTORIC RESOURCES, REFERRED TO AS THE ALMA GIOVANOTTI BUNGALOW 11 Recommendation: Recommend the City Council designate the property at 771 Toro Street as a Landmark in the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources, in accordance with the City’s Historic Preservation Ordinance. 4.b REVIEW OF THE REQUEST TO DESIGNATE THE PROPERTY AT 1811 CHORRO STREET AS A LANDMARK HISTORIC RESOURCE ON THE CITY’S INVENTORY OF HISTORIC RESOURCES, REFERRED TO AS THE CHARLES AND IDA PALMER HOUSE. 45 Recommendation: Recommend the City Council designate the property at 1811 Chorro Street as a Landmark in the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources, in accordance with the City’s Historic Preservation Ordinance. 5.COMMENT AND DISCUSSION 5.a STAFF UPDATES AND AGENDA FORECAST Receive a brief update from Principal Planner Brian Leveille. 6.ADJOURNMENT The next Regular Meeting of the Cultural Heritage Committee is scheduled for September 28, 2026 at 5:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 990 Palm Street, San Luis Obispo. LISTENING ASSISTIVE DEVICES are available -- see the Clerk The City of San Luis Obispo wishes to make all of its public meetings accessible to the public. Upon request, this agenda will be made available in appropriate alternative formats to persons with disabilities. Any person with a disability who requires a modification or accommodation in order to participate in a meeting should direct such request to the City Clerk’s Office at (805) 781-7114 at least 48 hours before the meeting, if possible. Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (805) 781-7410. Agenda related writings or documents provided to the Cultural Heritage Committee are available for public inspection on the City’s website: https://www.slocity.org/government/mayor-and-city-council/agendas-and- minutes. Meeting video recordings can be found on the City’s website: http://opengov.slocity.org/WebLink/Browse.aspx?id=60971&dbid=0&repo=CityCl erk 1 Cultural Heritage Committee Minutes July 27, 2026, 5:30 p.m. Council Chambers, 990 Palm Street, San Luis Obispo Cultural Heritage Committee Members Present: Member John Ashbaugh, Member David Blakely, Member Sabin Gray, Member Ivan Simon, Member Mayank Singh. Vice Chair Benjamin Arrona, Chair John Tischler City Staff Present: Principal Planner Brian Leveille, City Clerk Teresa Purrington _____________________________________________________________________ 1. CALL TO ORDER A Regular Meeting of the San Luis Obispo Cultural Heritage Committee was called to order on July 27, 2026 at 5:34 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 990 Palm Street, San Luis Obispo, by Chair Tischler. 2. OATH OF OFFICE City Clerk Teresa Purrington administered the Oath of Office to newly appointed Cultural Heritage Committee Member Mayank Singh. 3. ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR Motion By Member Ashbaugh Second By Member Blakely To appoint John Tischler to serve as Chair for a second year. Ayes (7): Member Benjamin Arrona, Member David Blakely, Member Sabin Gray, Member Ivan Simon, Member Mayank Singh. Vice Chair John Ashbaugh, Chair John Tischler CARRIED (7 to 0) Motion By Member Blakely Second By Member Ashbaugh To appoint Member Arrona to serve as Vice Chair. Page 5 of 76 2 Ayes (7): Member Benjamin Arrona, Member David Blakely, Member Sabin Gray, Member Ivan Simon, Member Mayank Singh. Vice Chair John Ashbaugh, Chair John Tischler CARRIED (7 to 0) 4. PUBLIC COMMENT FOR ITEMS NOT ON THE AGENDA Public Comment: None --End of Public Comment-- 5. CONSENT 5.a CONSIDERATION OF MINUTES - APRIL 27, 2026 CULTURAL HERITAGE COMMITTEE MINUTES Motion By Member Ashbaugh Second By Member Gray To approve the Cultural Heritage Committee Minutes of April 27, 2026. Ayes (7): Member John Ashbaugh, Member David Blakely, Member Sabin Gray, Member Ivan Simon, Member Mayank Singh. Vice Chair Benjamin Arrona, Chair John Tischler CARRIED (7 to 0) 6. PUBLIC HEARINGS 6.a REVIEW OF THE CONSTRUCTION OF A NEW 2-STORY DWELLING UNIT ON THE SAME LOT AS A LOCAL REGISTER RESOURCE AND WITHIN THE OLD TOWN HISTORIC DISTRICT (1520 BEACH STREET, ARCH-0124-2026) All Committee Members reported having no Ex Parte Communications. Assistant Planner Eva Wynn presented the staff report and responded to Committee inquiries. Applicant representative, John Bellisario, provided a brief overview of the project and responded to questions raised. Chair Tischler opened the Public Hearing Public Comment: James Papp Page 6 of 76 3 --End of Public Comment-- Chair Tischler closed Public Comment Motion By Member Ashbaugh Second By Vice Chair Arrona Recommend to the Community Development Director that the proposed new development is consistent with applicable historic preservation policies including the Historic Preservation Ordinance, Historic Preservation Program Guidelines, and Secretary of the Interior’s Standards. Ayes (7): Member John Ashbaugh, Member David Blakely, Member Sabin Gray, Member Ivan Simon, Member Mayank Singh. Vice Chair Benjamin Arrona, Chair John Tischler CARRIED (7 to 0) 6.b REVIEW OF A REQUEST TO ENTER INTO A HISTORICAL PROPERTY PRESERVATION CONTRACT (MILLS ACT) FOR THE LANDMARK HANS NISSEN AND LENA PETERSON HANSEN HOUSE LOCATED AT 1110 BUCHON STREET All Committee Members reported having no Ex Parte Communications. Assistant Planner Eva Wynn presented the staff report and responded to Committee inquiries. Applicant representative, James Papp, provided a brief overview of the project and responded to questions raised. Chair Tischler opened the Public Hearing Public Comment: None --End of Public Comment-- Chair Tischler closed Public Comment Motion By Chair Tischler Second By Member Ashbaugh Recommend to the City Council that the City enter a historic property preservation contract (Mills Act) with the property owner at 1110 Buchon Street, to encourage maintenance and restoration of the Landmark Page 7 of 76 4 “Hansen House” property based on the property’s eligibility and submitted list of proposed improvements. Ayes (7): Member John Ashbaugh, Member David Blakely, Member Sabin Gray, Member Ivan Simon, Member Mayank Singh. Vice Chair Benjamin Arrona, Chair John Tischler CARRIED (7 to 0) 6.c REVIEW OF A REQUEST TO ENTER INTO A HISTORICAL PROPERTY PRESERVATION CONTRACT (MILLS ACT) FOR THE LANDMARK GEORGE AND CORDELIA MCCABE HOUSE LOCATED AT 571 PISMO STREET All Committee Members reported having no Ex Parte Communications. Assistant Planner Eva Wynn presented the staff report and responded to Committee inquiries. Applicant representative, James Papp, provided a brief overview of the project and responded to questions raised. Chair Tischler opened the Public Hearing Public Comment: None --End of Public Comment-- Chair Tischler closed Public Comment Motion By Member Ashbaugh Second By Chair Tischler Recommend to the City Council that the City enter a historic property preservation contract (Mills Act) with the property owners at 571 Pismo Street, to encourage maintenance and restoration of the Landmark “McCabe House” property based on the property’s eligibility and submitted list of proposed improvements. Ayes (7): Member John Ashbaugh, Member David Blakely, Member Sabin Gray, Member Ivan Simon, Member Mayank Singh. Vice Chair Benjamin Arrona, Chair John Tischler CARRIED (7 to 0) 7. COMMENT AND DISCUSSION Page 8 of 76 5 7.a STAFF UPDATES AND AGENDA FORECAST Principal Planner Brian Leveille provided an update of upcoming projects. Members Blakely, Gray and Ashbaugh provided an overview of the Preservation Conference in May. Member Blakely indicated he has some ideas of how to streamline the landmark and Mills Act process and would like to have a discussion regarding this on a future agenda. Member Blakey noted his concerns over state housing legislation which will impact the ability of the City to carry out historic preservation goals. 8. ADJOURNMENT The meeting was adjourned at 7:36 p.m. The next Regular Meeting of the Cultural Heritage Committee is scheduled for August 24, 2026, at 5:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 990 Palm Street, San Luis Obispo. APPROVED BY CULTURAL HERITAGE COMMITTEE: XX/XX/202X Page 9 of 76 Page 10 of 76 CULTURAL HERITAGE COMMITTEE AGENDA REPORT SUBJECT: REVIEW OF THE REQUEST TO DESIGNATE THE PROPERTY AT 771 TORO STREET AS A LANDMARK HISTORIC RESOURCE ON THE CITY’S INVENTORY OF HISTORIC RESOURCES, REFERRED TO AS THE ALMA GIOVANOTTI BUNGALOW BY: Eva Wynn, Assistant Planner FROM: Brian Leveille, Principal Planner Phone Number: (805) 781-7172 Phone Number: (805) 781-7166 Email: ewynn@slocity.org Email: bleveille@slocity.org APPLICATION NUMBER(S): HIST-0338-2026 PROJECT ADDRESS(ES): 771 Toro Street APPLICANT: Jennifer Collins REPRESENTATIVE: James Papp, PhD RECOMMENDATION Recommend the City Council designate the property at 771 Toro Street as a Landmark in the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources, in accordance with the City’s Historic Preservation Ordinance. 1.0 BACKGROUND The property owner(s) have requested that the property at 771 Toro Street be designated as a Landmark in the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources, as the Alma Giovanotti Bungalow. The property is currently listed as a Local Register Resource. The applicant has provided a historic evaluation documenting the property’s eligibility for Landmark designation (Attachment A), prepared by James Papp, PhD, Historian and Architectural Historian. Meeting Date: 8/24/2026 Item Number: 4a Time Estimate: 30 minutes Figure 1 - 771 Toro Street Page 11 of 76 Item 4a HIST-0338-2026 Cultural Heritage Committee Report – August 24, 2026 2.0 DISCUSSION 2.1 Site and Setting The property at 771 Toro Street is located at the northern end of Toro Street between Peach Street and Mill Street. The property is currently listed as a Local Register Resource, added by Resolution No. 5197 in 1983, and is within the Mill Street Historic District. According to the submitted evaluation (Attachment A), the residence was developed as part of a small-family development alongside the residence at 1163 Peach Street. According to the Historic Preservation Program and Guidelines (HPPGs, § 5.2.4), the Mill Street Historic District is a small, highly concentrated residential historic district in San Luis Obispo, established in 1987. Covering approximately 20 acres, it contains one of the highest concentrations of historic structures among the city’s five historic districts . The district developed primarily during the 1900s–1920s, a period of population and economic growth in San Luis Obispo. The neighborhood was originally part of the Town of San Luis Obispo subdivision, recorded in 1878, and was informally known as Fremont Heights. Its location on higher ground and its originally very wide 100 -foot lots reflected practical responses to early San Luis Obispo’s problems with seasonal flooding and fires. Many of the large lots were later subdivided into approximately 50 –60-foot lots, although some of the original wider lots remain. Predominant architectural features in the District include:  One- and occasionally two-story houses  Mostly gable and hip roof types  Traditional fenestration, such as double -hung, wood sash windows, ornamental front doors, wood screen doors  Ornamental roof features, including prominent fascias, bargeboards, prominent pediments or cornices  Painted wood or stucco surface material, including siding and molding Figure 2 - Location of 771 Toro Page 12 of 76 Item 4a HIST-0338-2026 Cultural Heritage Committee Report – August 24, 2026 2.2 Alma Giovanotti Bungalow According to the submitted evaluation (Attachment A), the Alma Giovanotti Bungalow at 771 Toro Street is a California Bungalow built in 1922. The building was designed by William Whitley McKinney and constructed by W. J. Smith, a local builder. The Giovanotti Bungalow exhibits notable features that further characterize the modern, “airplane bungalow” with Prairie School influences (pg. 2). Attachment A characterizes the features that elevate the residence’s significance to the Landmark level as the elements that establish a relationship between the Alma Giovanotti Bungalow and the residence at 1163 Peach Street (Local Register Resource), referred to as the Rose Giovanotti Bungalow. The two buildings were designed by the same architect and employ architectural repetitions and variations which creates a complementary pair with distinct forms and expressions (pg. 2). 3.0 EVALUATION Pursuant to §14.01.030 of the City’s Historic Preservation Ordinance (HPO), the Cultural Heritage Committee makes recommendations to the City Council on applications for designation of Landmarks. A Landmark, as defined in §14.01.020.28 of the HPO, is the highest level of individual local designation and may be applied to a historic resource that has been found significant at the local, state, or national level . In order to be eligible for designation, a Landmark shall be at least fifty years old, demonstrate significance under at least one of the criteria outlined in §14.01.060, and retain a high degree of integrity. The HPO indicates that the National Register Bulletin No. 15: How to Apply the National Register Criteria for Evaluation should be consulted when evaluating and determining significance. Additionally, the designation of Landmark is reserved to those properties that are of the greatest importance at the local, regional, state, or national level in terms of age, architectural or historical significance, rarity, or association with important persons or events in the City’s past that meet the eligibility criteria. Figure 3 - The Alma Giovanotti Bungalow Page 13 of 76 Item 4a HIST-0338-2026 Cultural Heritage Committee Report – August 24, 2026 3.1 Significance Criteria The submitted evaluation (Attachment A) requests th at the residence at 771 Toro Street be designated as a Landmark for its architectural significance and rarity. Designation of the Giovanotti Bungalow is not requested for its association with Persons, Events, or Information Potential. Staff has reviewed the information provided in the evaluation and under the applicable HPO criteria: Significance Criteria - Architecture The architectural significance of property is described in Attachment A (pgs. 16-23) as an extremely rare and highly intact example of the California Bungalow that represents a distinctive local interpretation incorporating Prairie School influences and a more modern expression. The architectural significance of the property is noted as strengthened by its relationship to the Rose Giovanotti Bungalow at 1163 Peach Street. The evaluation provides that the two bungalows were built as a pair, designed by the same architect, and “conceived as contrasting variations on the California Bungalow theme, late in the California Bungalow era, with similar materials and footprints but quite different presentations” (pg. 16). As such the Bungalows constitute a rare example of paired variations on a common architectural theme (California Bungalow), both showcasing the high artistic standards and inventive design by William Whitley McKinney. Their related forms, repetitions, and distinctions demonstrate a level of design intentionality and architectural experimentation that is unusual among residential properties of the period in San Luis Obispo (pg. 2). The evaluation identifies the Alma Giovanotti Bungalows as extremely rare among historic San Luis Obispo houses and buildings because of its “formal and decorative interplay” with the Rose Giovanotti Bungalow (pg. 26). The property is also described as significant within the context of the Mill Street Historic District. The district's character is partly derived from the pattern of small family developments that occurred during the late nineteenth and early twenti eth centuries (pg. 8). The architectural significance of the Alma Giovanotti Bunglaow is expressed through distinctive character-defining features, including:  An asymmetric porch  A flat porch roof  Square porch and stairway columns  A solid porch parapet  A flat-roofed square bay  A low-pitched house roof  Extended and flat-soffited eaves  Horizontally linear and grouped fenestration  Dual front entries,  Stucco fabric,  and footprint, fenestration, materials, and low profile shared with the Rose Giovanotti House at 1163 Peach Street (Attachment A, pg. 24) Page 14 of 76 Item 4a HIST-0338-2026 Cultural Heritage Committee Report – August 24, 2026 These documented characteristics represent a distinctive architectural type and demonstrate the property's architectural significance and rarity under §14.01.060. Based on the submitted documentation and current listing as a Local Register Resource, staff finds that the Alma Giovanotti Bunglaow meets the Architecture criterion. 3.2 Integrity According to the HPO and consistent with the National Register Bulletin No. 15, integrity is defined as “the ability of a historic resource to convey its significance, typically evidenced by the retention of attributes that existed during a resource’s period of significance and including location, design, setting, materials, workmanship, feeling, and association” (HPO 14.01.020 (26)). To be included in the City’s Inventory as a Landmark, 1811 Chorro Street must meet at least one significance criteria, be among the resources with the greatest importance at the local, regional, state, or national level, and retain a high degree of integrity to communicate its significance. Attachment A provides an evaluation of the property’s integrity (pg. 25), including the extent of alterations, and finds that the Giovanotti Bungalow retains a high degree of integrity in location, design, materials, workmanship, and setting, with sufficient integrity of feeling to continue communicating its architectural significance. The original wood sash windows have been replaced with modern sash windows and one casement window, although the original window surrounds or architraves remain. The front doors have also been replaced, the front steps have been reconstructed, and the small center chimney has been removed. The setting is noted as altered due to development in the neighborhood, however the suburban setting is retained. The house remains in its original location and retains the principal character -defining features of its original design, including the asymmetric porch supported by three square columns, solid porch parapet, flat-roofed square bay, low-pitched roof, extended and flat- soffited eaves, horizontally linear and grouped fenestration, dual front doors, stucco exterior, and original footprint. These features, together with the property’s low profile and overall form, continue to convey the architectural character of the resource and its relationship to the Mill Street Historic District (Attachment A, pg. 25). Staff concurs that, although certain original materials and features have been removed or replaced, the property retains the essential physical characteristics necessary to convey its architectural significance. The retention of character defining features, as described in Attachment A, indicate the Alma Giovanotti Bungalow retains a high degree of integrity to support the requested Landmark designation. 3.3 Conclusion The submitted application requests designation of the Alma Giovanotti Bungalow at 1811 Chorro Street as a Landmark in the City's Inventory of Historic Resources. The submitted evaluation identifies the property as significant for its architectural character and rarity and provides an analysis of the integrity of the Alma Giovanotti Bungalow. Page 15 of 76 Item 4a HIST-0338-2026 Cultural Heritage Committee Report – August 24, 2026 Based on the submitted evaluation, staff's analysis, and the applicable criteria established by the Historic Preservation Ordinance, staff recommends that the Cultural Heritage Committee deliberate and forward a recommendation to the City Council on the property’s eligibility for Landmark designation as a resource among those of the greatest importance to the City, State, or Nation with a high degree of integrity. Staff has prepared the following findings for the Committee’s consideration: The available documentation demonstrates that the property is a rare and architecturally significant local example of California Bungalow. Its significance is heightened by its relationship to the Rose Giovanotti Bungalow, which together form a distinctive pair of complementary variations on the California Bungalow theme. The Alma Bungalow was designed by William Whitley McKinney and constructed by notable local builder W. J. Smith. Its “airplane bungalow” form, Prairie School influences, artistic quality, and relationship to the companion Rose Bungalow distinguish it from more typical California Bungalows in San Luis Obispo. The property also retains a high degree of historic integrity in location, design, materials, workmanship, setting, and feeling. As a resu lt, the building continues to convey the architectural qualities and historical associations that establish its significance. 4.0 ENVIRONMENTAL DETERMINATION This project is categorically exempt from the provisions of the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA). Inclusion of the subject property on the Landmark list of the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources does not have the potential for causing a significant effect on the environment and so is covered by the general rule described in §15061(b)(3 ) of the CEQA Guidelines. 5.0 ACTION ALTERNATIVES 1. Staff Recommendation: Recommend the City Council elevate the property at 771 Toro Street to a Landmark in the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources, including Staff’s findings and noted elements of the property which satisfy Evaluation Criteria for Landmark listing as a resource of the greatest level of importance at the local, regional, state, or national level and that the property retains a high degree of integrity. 2. Recommend to the City Council that the property’s Local Register status should be retained and the property not be designated as a Landmark in the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources, based on the finding that the property does not satisfy Evaluation Criteria to be a Landmark Historic Resource as there is not sufficient information to support that the property is of the greatest importance at the local, regional, state, or national level, and/or does not retain a high degree of integrity. Page 16 of 76 Item 4a HIST-0338-2026 Cultural Heritage Committee Report – August 24, 2026 3. Continue consideration of the request with direction to the applicant and staff on any needed information or analysis in order to reach a recommendation. 6.0 ATTACHMENTS A - Historic Resource Evaluation - 771 Toro Street Page 17 of 76 Page 18 of 76 1 The Alma Giovanotti Bungalow 771 Toro Street Mill Street Historic District Historic Resource Evaluation and Landmark Application Summary Conclusion The Alma Giovanotti Bungalow (above) is of the greatest importance at the local level in terms of architectural significance and rarity, as a unique example in the cit y—with the Rose Giovanotti Bungalow (below)—of architect-designed paired variations on the theme of the California Bungalow, within the pattern of small family developments of the late nineteenth and early twentieth century. These small developments are what give the Mill Street Historic District its eclectic character. The Giovanotti Bungalows are by far the most audacious of such projects and qualify as Landmarks both for embodiment of style and high artistic standards. Page 19 of 76 2 The Giovanotti bungalows are extremely rare for historic San Luis houses or indeed buildings in general in having been designed by one person—William Whitley McKinney—and built by another—the notable local builder W. J. Smith. McKinney, arrived in San Luis Obispo in 1921 advertising himself as an architectural engineer—something of a reinvention for a rural Missouri civil engineer whose previous purview had been bridges, roads, maps, and property lines. Yet he quickly ran up a string of significant projects, including houses, stores, apartments, and the Exposition Park grandstand. Then, within four years, McKinney reinvented himself again—as a mining engineer. His last documented built projects are the Landmark Dughi, Wickenden, and Smith Buildings at 1029 and 1033 Chorro and 1123–1127 Garden, respectively, all from mid- 1923. After his attempt to promote iron ore veins in the Irish Hills and turn San Luis into a second Pittsburgh suddenly collapsed, he vanished from town in late 1925 or early 1926 and died in San Francisco in 1928. Of his six known surviving buildings here, three—the Dughi, Wickenden, and Smith Buildings— are Landmarks, while the Alma and Rose Giovanotti Bungalows are Local Register Resources, and the R. F. Richardson House at 1163 Marsh is unlisted. This is despite the fact that t he Giovanotti Bungalows are far more inventive and significant architecturally than the Landmark buildings, with a far higher degree of integrity to convey that significance. Ideally, both Giovanotti Bungalows will be Landmarked. The owner of the Alma Giovanotti Bungalow is ready to proceed, and the owners of the Rose Giovanotti Bungalow may soon be. The Alma Giovanotti Bungalow garnered more press attention at the time for its “modern” form, dubbed an “airplane bungalow,” with its Prairie School infusion and without the structural nod to the traditional California Bungalow’s chalet gable in the Rose Giovanotti Bungalow, which was in turn responding to the 1913 Battista and Rose Giovanotti Bungalow on the other side (1151 Peach). But it is ultimately the architectural pairing—with almost musical repetitions, and distinctions of form—of the two contemporary Alma and Rose Bungalows that make them extremely rare in San Luis and among the most important historic buildings here. Both bungalows have the high degree of integrity in location, design, materials, workmanship, setting, and feeling to convey their architectural significance and rarity and to be eligible as Landmarks. James Papp, PhD • Historian & Architectural Historian, City & County of San Luis Obispo 964 Chorro St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 • 805-470-0983 • papp.architectural.history@gmail.com Research assistance by N. Y. North Submitted 1 June 2026 on behalf of Jennifer Collins Page 20 of 76 3 Contents Summary Conclusion 1 Timeline: The Giovanottis 4 Timeline: William Whitley McKinney 5 Historic Context: Multiple-Property Developments in San Luis Obispo 7 Architectural Historic Context: The Airplane Bungalow 9 William Whitley McKinney 11 The Alma Giovanotti Bungalow: Architectural Significance 16 Character-Defining Features 24 Integrity 24 Conclusion 26 Page 21 of 76 4 Timeline: The Giovanottis 1858 Battista Giovanotti is born in Switzerland (Passenger List, City of Brooklyn, 1874). 1866 Oct 31 Rose Righetti is born in Switzerland (California Death Index, 1940–1997). 1874 At 16 Battista Giovanotti emigrates to the United States as a laborer, arriving in New York on the City of Brooklyn, via Liverpool, England and Queenstown, Ireland, November 3rd (Passenger List). 1880 Giovanotti is listed as living at the Swiss Benevolent Society in Langley’s San Francisco Directory. Also in 1880, the US Census list Giovanotti working as a hired hand on a farm in San Geronimo, Marin County. 1899 Oct 16 Alma Rose Giovanotti is born (California Death Index, 1940–1997). 1904 Jan 6 Rebecca Harris transfers the deed to block 33, lot 3 and 100 feet of block 2 to Battista and Alma Giovanotti (“Proceedings in County Offices,” Morning Tribune, 12 Jan. 1904, p. 3). 1905 Aug The Sanborn map shows near-identical asymmetric Colonial Bungalows at 1137 and 1143 Peach on the Giovanottis’ newly-acquired property. Both were added to the Contributing List in 1987, though 1143 had received an addition altering its street façade to symmetry between 1926 and 1937. Falsely historicist Eastlake decoration was added to 1143 by 2012 and 1137 by 2015 (Google Map Street Views). 1910 Battista Giovanotti is working as a milker on a dairy ranch owned by a Swiss- Italian couple in Arroyo Grande. 1912–1914 Circa 1913 and later, 1137 is documented as being used for the Giovanotti family house and 1143 for a rental (Telegram: “Another Prize Winner,” 2 March 1912, p. 8; “Former Resident Wins San Luis Obispo Bride,” 29 January 1914, p. 6). 1913 Jul 24 Battista and Rose Giovanotti apply for a permit for a 40’ x 38’ wood house, 100 feet from corner, lot 3, block 33 (1151 Peach), contractor H. W. Rulison, added to the Contributing List in 1987 (Permit File, Cal Poly Special Collections and Archives). Oct 13 The Telegram notes Battista Giovanotti “has become the sole proprietor of a dairy near the Union Creamery” and is referenced as being “of Morro” (With Point and Without,” p. 2). 1920 In the US Census, Battista, Rose, and daughters Esther and Alma are living at 1137 Peach. Battista is listed as a laborer. 1922 Jan 9 Alma Giovanotti applies for a permit for 40’ x 32’ frame and stucco house, southerly third of lot 3, block 33 (771 Toro), contractor W. J. Smith, cost Page 22 of 76 5 $4,000, added to the Contributing List in 1987 (Permit File, Cal Poly Special Collections and Archives). Jan 16 Rose Giovanotti applies for a permit for a 40’ by 32’ frame and stucco house, mid third of block 33, lot 3 (1163 Toro), contractor W. J. Smith, cost $4,500, added to the Contributing List in 1987 (Permit File, Cal Poly Special Collections and Archives). 1934 Sep 26 Battista Giovanotti dies in San Luis Obispo (plot OM-B3, San Luis Cemetery, findagrave.com). 1940 Alma and Esther Giovanotti are living with their widowed mother Rose at 1151 Peach Street, (US Census). 1960 May 9 Rose Giovanotti dies in San Luis Obispo, after living 79 years there (“Rose Giovanotti Dies at Age 93,” Telegram-Tribune, 9 May 1960, p. 2). 1985 Mar 24 Alma Giovanotti dies in San Luis Obispo (California Death Index, 1940 –1997). Timeline: William Whitley McKinney 1873 Aug McKinney is born in August 1873 in Missouri (1900 US Census). 1893 While drinking with two friends in his hometown of Mexico, MO, McKinney testifies that one kills the other with a rock in an unprovoked assault by the railroad tracks. Joe Donnelly is tried three times for murder, convicted in the third trial, and sentenced to hang. McKinney testifies in Donnelly’s trial; his “testimony was regarded by many as an effort to shield himself at Donnelly’s expense,” and is tried as accessory to murder but acquitted. “Since his discharge, young McKinney has been living an upright, commendable life. He works with his father at the carpenter’s trade and is not only industrious and steady, but seems anxious to profit by his awful experience of the past” (Mexico Intelligencer, 21 Nov. 1895, p. 1). Donnelly is eventually pardoned. 1896 W. W. McKinney’s father, R. S. “Shanks” McKinney, born 1845, becomes Audrain County Surveyor, a job he holds till 1923. 1897–1898 Mexico newspapers show W. W. McKinney is billing county for bridge, carpentry, and painting work. 1898 In an affidavit, McKinney admits to fraudulent testimony over the location of a grave in a noted inheritance case (“The Sublette Estate,” Mexico Weekly Ledger, 24 Nov. 1898, p. 2). 1899 Lectures on “Science and the Bible” (Mexico Daily Intelligencer, 15 and 23 Mar. 1899, p. 4). Page 23 of 76 6 1899–1900 Works ten months in Hawaiian Islands for the US Government (“Home from Honolulu,” Mexico Weekly Ledger, 10 May 1900, p. 2), 1900 The US Census lists McKinney in Mexico and employed in US Service as a quartermaster. 1903 McKinney, with J. N. Cross, issues a 25-cent pocket atlas of Audrain County (Mexico Evening Ledger, 13 Jan. 1903, p. 1). 1904 Is working as Audrain County’s deputy surveyor under father Richard S. McKinney, county surveyor, and is billing, like his father, for “engineering” (“Smoker Friday Night,” Mexico Evening Ledger, 7 May 1904, p. 4; “Street Work,” Intelligencer, 21 July 1904, p. 8). Is commissioned by Audrain County to make a school map (“County Court Notes,” Mexico Evening Ledger, 9 Feb.1904, p. 4). 1906 “W. W. McKinney is getting up, by subscription, a commercial map of Mexico” (Mexico Missouri Message, 22 Mar. 1906, p. 1). It is unclear if it is ever completed. He writes to the Mexico Evening Ledger, noting that Mexico has almost doubled in population in four years and encouraging the city administration to “advertize, advertize, advertize” (“A Card from William McKinney,” 15 Mar. 1906, p. 1). It is the first of a series of letters, articles, and poems on promotion, road improvement, urban development, etc. He also designs plans for a “Model Dirt Road” for farmers north of town (“To Make Model Road,” Mexico Evening Ledger, 27 June 1906, p. 4) and is listed in the Mexico newspapers as acting city engineer and later city engineer. 1908 Offers to clean cemetery monuments for free to promote new product Presto (“Fair Enough,” Mexico Evening Ledger, 10 June 1908, p. 4) 1913 In describing a demonstration of dynamite in farming, the Vandalia Mail describes McKinney as former deputy surveyor of Audrain County (28 Nov. 1913, p. 4). During the next few years he will live and work in various rural Missouri towns, until, as assistant surveyor of Audrain County, he enlists in the Army Corps of Engineers in 1917, qualifying by examination as a second lieutenant (“W. W. McKinney to Army,” Mexico Weekly Ledger, 19 July 1917, p. 1). For further chronology, see the section on William Whitley McKinney, p. 11. Page 24 of 76 7 Historic Context: Multiple-Property Developments in San Luis Obispo The first mass developer of the Chumash village of tiłhini was the Catholic Church, which enslaved the local Indians by any measure of what slavery is—captivity, work for subsistence, corporal punishment, the testimony of contemporary visitors, and later emancipation by the Mexican government—and had them build a new form of housing: sex-segregated jacalitos or small jacals (paling-based, mud-plastered, and thatched structures), which Fr. Pedro Font with the De Anza expedition described in the expedition’s stop at the renamed San Luis Obispo in 1776 (Diario Íntimo [Hermosillo: University of Sonora, 2000], p. 225). Font called the church a jacal and the parish hall and priests’ quarters a jacalon (or big jacal). He added, presciently, that there was great risk of fire, and Yokuts Indians burned down the mission complex in the subsequent year. Font did not mention any wickiups (or qnipu, as they are called in Northern Chumash), despite fascination with these structures by other Spanish chroniclers. This suggests—like Sherlock Holmes’ dog that did not bark in the nighttime —that there were no qnipu left to describe. In the early 1790s, Mexico City sent skilled craftsmen north to raise the missions above jacal standards with carpentry, adobe brickwork, and stonework. In 1792–1793, the Mission San Luis Obispo church and parish hall achieved (more or less) their current form, and between 1801 and 1810, the Indian slaves were set to building regimented housing for themselves: two ranks of 17 x 20–foot adobes, some attached and some detached, eighty in all, on either side of Chorro Street to replace the 20-foot-diameter qnipu that would have been scattered in a circle (Paul H. Kocher, Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa: A Historical Sketch [San Luis Obispo: Blake, 1972], p. 19). Chroniclers described coastal wickiups as housing about twenty people each, and the slave adobes probably housed a similar number, with nearly a thousand neophytes at the height of this population in 1805. Circa 1850, the Indians of San Luis Obispo were virtually wiped out by a cholera epidemic, and by the 1874 Sanborn Map, the remaining slave adobes were subsumed by Whites (on the town side of Chorro) or lay in “uninsurable” ruins (on the Mission side). Thr ee survive: one the extended Sauer Adobe and two encased in the Sauer-Adams Adobe. (All had been granted during the Mexican period to Victor Linares, majordomo of the Mission San Luis Obispo and later juez segundo of the area and father of accused bandit Pio Linares. The author of this report lives and works in one of the encased adobes of the Sauer-Adams, still 17’ x 20’.) These slave adobes would be the last mass development until the Goldtree Tract in 1952, planned for Poly faculty and school district and state highways employees, with slightly varying Ranch-style houses designed by R. L. Graves, George Hasslein, and Ken Schwartz. While the adobes were planned to keep the Indians in, the Goldtree development, like all such, was planned to keep non-Whites out, as the FHA would not fund mixed-race housing. Prior to this development, tracts and additions in San Luis were generaally sold as lots—occasionally with an individual house built by the subdivider or a speculator—rather than as mass developments. Page 25 of 76 8 Small family developments characterized San Luis Obispo in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, when a few contiguous lots were purchased or a larger lot subdivided, and houses were constructed for family members or as investment properties, often over decades. This practice was especially notable in the Mill Street Historic District, where lots were larger than in many other parts of the city and could accommodate several houses. Examples Sketch Map of the City of San Luis Obispo, Cal., by C. W. Henderson, city engineer, 1894 (detail) range from the LeRoy Smith and Leroy Anderson Houses (1306 and 1318 Mill —neighboring houses built at the same time by Cal Poly’s first two directors on the lot purchased and subdivided by the second, Smith’s the second Bay Area Dutch Colonial [High-Peaked Colonial] in town, Anderson’s the first Prairie School) to the five Torres family buildings (at Toro and Mill’s north corner from the 1890s to the 1940s in Queen Anne [1202 Mill], Eastlake [1214 Mill], Colonial [1220 Mill], Deco-Mission [778 Toro], and Streamline Moderne [780 Toro]) and the five Giovanotti bungalows (Colonial Bungalows at 1137 and 1143 Peach circa 1904–1905, California Bungalow at 1151 Peach in 1913, and updated California Bungalows, one Prairie School–influenced, in 1922 at 771 Toro and 1163 Peach). The Alma and Rose Giovanotti at 771 Toro and 1163 Peach are unique of this genre for being built at the same time, both designed by an architect, both designed by the same architect, and being designed in sophisticated interplay with each other and the Battista and Rose Giovanotti bungalow from 1913 (where the Giovanottis’ Colonial Bungalows from 1904–1905 were identical in all but size). Later large developments, like the Goldtree Tract, would vary designs to avoid monotony, but the Alma and Rose Bungalows are clearly varied to both create visual delight and make the viewer think about architecture and architectural styles. Page 26 of 76 9 Architectural Historic Context: The Airplane Bungalow I am not particularly interested in what other architectural historians think is a style, not even very interested in what I think is a style. I am very interested, however, in what contemporary practitioners and observers thought was a style. During his time in San Luis Obispo, William McKinney was an almost daily advertiser in the local Telegram, and in turn it regularly reported in detail on his projects. The Telegram’s description of the Alma Giovanotti house as an “airplane bungalow” thus is likely from McKinney’s mouth. The paired bungalow on the other side of the lot (1163 Peach), fronted by a more traditionally California Bungalow Swiss chalet gable, was not so described, though in other respects it is a similar structure. Telegram, 5 January 1922, p. 5 El Paso Herald, 21 April 1916, p. 11 References to Airplane Bungalows first appear in the popular press in 1916 in Texas, and the term initially refers to a California Bungalow with a second floor consisting wholly of a sleeping porch. The modern explanation that air was supposed to plane across the roof to cool the porch may be a later folk etymology. More likely the term developed not from a concept but a visual image: the sleeping porch’s deep eaves atop the eaves of the larger structure making the house appear like a biplane (“The Airplane Bungalow,” Herald [Melbourne, Australia], 26 July 1922, p. 12) Greene and Greene’s famous 1908–1909 Gamble House in Pasadena has such a third-floor room, which may be the concept’s origin. By 1917, according to newspaper articles and advertisements, the term had spread to Iowa and back to California, by 1918 to Oklahoma, and by 1920 across the United States, but by 1917 it was no longer pictured or explained. From surviving examples where addresses are listed, it appeared by this time to refer to a second bedroom floor smaller than the ground floor with deep eaves, though purists might insist on a smaller cockpit-type elevation surrounded by windows (e.g., 45th and Woodland, Des Moines [“New Airplane Bungalow,” Des Moines Evening Tribune, 14 Sep. 1917, p. 15; 936 N. Roosevelt Ave in Fresno [“Price $4400,” Real Estate—City, 23 Oct. 1918, Fresno Morning Republican, p. 15). Page 27 of 76 10 This remains the common acceptance of the term throughout the 1920s and 1930s in various parts of the country, but the permit application for the Alma Giovanotti House makes clear that a second story was never contemplated. However, as observers viewed houses with wide eaves associated with the Prairie School, these also were dubbed “airplane houses.” Frank Lloyd Wright’s 1908 Mrs. Howard Weiss House in Madison was known locally as “The Airplane House” (Jill Moore Marx, “Milestones in the Architectural Past, Wisconsin State Journal, 3 Mar. 1968, section 6, p. 1), and the same is true of Louis Sullivan’s 1909 Bradley House in Chicago (Frank Custer, “Bradley Did’t Like Landmark Mansion,” Madison Capital Times, 6 July 1971, entertainment p. 1) and Purcell and Elmslie’s famous 1912 house in Woods Hole, MA (below). A 1918 Modesto Morning Herald ad for a “one- story airplane bungalow” suggests this may have had wider usage (1 Feb., p. 5). It appears to have been solely in this sense of linear and horizontal style that the Telegram, and presumably William McKinney, dubbed the Alma Giovanotti House an “airplane bungalow.” Page 28 of 76 11 William Whitley McKinney Initially advertising himself as W. McKinney, CE, Architectural Engineer, William McKinney, arrived in San Luis Obispo in 1921 with a splash. On June 14, the Telegram reported on page one that McKinney, who has “recently come to this city with his family from San Francisco,” had been engaged to draw the plans for a $35,000 garage, showroom, and office development by Ed Kaiser at Santa Rosa and Higuera. On June 30, he began daily display ads in the Telegram, listing his office in the iconic Johnson Block at Chorro and Higuera (p. 5). He also ran daily ads in the Tribune. On July 6, the Telegram reported on page one that he had applied for the post of city engineer (which he did not receive). Where did he come from, and how did he cut such a swathe and reach such heights, before his precipitous fall? Unlike other early figures who appear to have invented their professional pedigrees—Walter Murray, with no evidence of legal training or even citi zenship, who died a superior court judge; Chauncey Hatch Phillips, who wildly exaggerated his résumé and became a respected banker and land developer; and Hilamon Spencer Laird, who mysteriously morphed from Point Reyes dairyman into San Luis Obispo’s first and most notable architect —William McKinney appears to have been perfectly qualified as a civil engineer, with a record as a community organizer and community booster attested to in the Mexico Evening Ledger, the newspaper of his hometown, Mexico, Audrain County, Missouri. What he did not have during his career in Missouri was a documented experience in architecture. (But the same can be said of William Parker, the County Surveyor who appears to have designed our Landmark Hays-Latimer Adobe, a sophisticated semi-peripteral that appears to be the only Gothic Revival domestic adobe anywhere.) While assistant county surveyor of Audrain, Missouri, McKinney volunteered for the US Army Corps of Engineers in July 1917 and was admitted as a lieutenant and promoted to first lieutenant, becoming the supply officer for the 41st Engineers in Washington, DC.1 If volunteering for the army just before his forty-fourth birthday seems an unusual move, it is worth noting that his father, Richard “Shanks” McKinney, born in 1845, was Audrain County Surveyor and showed no sign of retiring—serving till his seventy-eighth year, in 1923. The posting to Washington must have widened William McKinney’s geographical horizons beyond rural Missouri, and an expected promotion to captain that never came when the war ended had to widen his ambitions beyond the army. McKinney was born in Missouri in August 1873, and the 1900 US Census found him, his wife Carrie (née Motz), and their two children living with his father (the county surveyor), mother, and three sisters in Mexico, pop. 21,160, while apparently doing US service in the Quartermaster Corps. In the 1910 census, McKinney was listed as a civil engineer living with 1. Mexico Evening Ledger: “W. W. McKinney to Army, 17 July 1917, p. 1; “Lieut. W. W. McKinney Writes,” 19 Jan. 1918, p. 4 Page 29 of 76 12 wife Carrie and four children in Mexico. In 1915, he registered the birth of his sixth child in tiny Middletown, Montgomery County, MO, where he applied but was rejected for county surveyor in 1916 (“W. W. McKinney,” Mexico Evening Ledger, 4 Mar. 1916, p. 1). By the 1920 census, his wife and younger five children were listed in Mexico without McKinney, whether he was not yet demobilized or was by then in San Francisco, where he and his wife both had sisters. In 1921, most of the family were in San Luis. He had no known previous connection here. McKinney’s drive, personality, and networking ability, however, seem to have been the perfect fit for San Luis. Drawing on a blank slate, he quickly acquired substantial projects, according to the Telegram (which also reported his hiring of a draftsman, secretary, and stenographer 2). These projects included, in 1921, a two-story stucco apartment house for Queenie Warden (apparently never built) and a store in Santa Maria for a P. Farrentelli. In 1922 McKinney designed the Alma and Rose Giovanotti Bungalows (extant), a cottage for W. E. Alderman (built but no longer extant) across from the sanitarium on Marsh, a Spanish house for R. F. Richardson (extant) at 1363 Marsh, a house for former district attorney Albert Nelson (no longer extant) at Santa Rosa and Walnut, another store in Santa Maria for P. Tarantilli, and the Exposition Park grandstand (no longer extant).3 1922 Exposition Park grandstand, left, and 1922 Richardson House with 1954 façade screen, right There were more houses and business buildings in 1923, including the now -Landmark Dughi and Wickenden Buildings at 1033 and 1029 Chorro (built for J. B. Berkemeyer and the Luigi Marre Cattle Co.4), as well as, during the spring, the buildings, plank access road, and cable car 2. “With Architect,” Telegram, 8 Sep. 1921, p. 5; “Accepts Position,” Telegram, 28 Aug. 1922, p. 5. 3. Warden Apartments: ‘Mrs. Warden Will Erect Apartments,” Telegram, 6 Sep. 1921, p. 7; P. Farrentilli Store: “Dinner Guests,” Telegram, 23 Aug. 1921, p. 5; "Alma Giovanotti House: “Miss Giovanotti to Build,” Telegram, 5 Jan. 1922, p. 5; Rose Giovanotti House: “Start on New House,” Telegram, 12 Jan. 1922, p. 5; W. E. Alderman House: “Building Cottage,” Telegram, 6 Feb. 1922, p.5; R. F. Richardson House: “Building Begun,” Telegram, 26 July 1922, p. 5; Exposition Park, Cal Poly Special Collections Building Permit File. 4. “New Building on Chorro St. Now Planned,” Telegram, 27 June 1923, p. 8. Page 30 of 76 13 system for the US Refractories mining project off the Osos Valley, where McKinney was ultimately described as “engineer for the company” in June.5 In May he applied again for the vacant post of city engineer and again was not chosen (“Merchants to Provide Pay of City Policeman,” Telegram, 22 May 1923, p. 8). He now got involved in larger and more speculative projects, including a subdivision and country club on the Orcutt Ranch that appear never to have gotten built next to a golf course that was built but has now vanished. On 20 October 2023 the Mount Pleasanton Square addition ran a half-page ad on page three of the Morning Tribune touting McKinney’s purchase of a lot there that assumed not only that he was well- known in the city for his house designs but for the nickname Mac. Yet his focus would soon be diverted from architecture. On December 5, 1923, the Tribune reported as an “authentically verified” leak—with a seven-column banner headline across the top of its front page “MAY DEVELOP IRON INDUSTRY IN THIS COUNTY”—the news that McKinney had taken the president and geologist of the Pacific Coast Steel Company through iron ore deposits in the Irish Hills. On 17 April 1924, the Telegram, under the headline “New Pittsburg [sic] May Be Developed at San Luis,” revealed that McKinney had leased 7,000 acres of the Irish Hills where he believed iron ore deposits to be. Nonetheless, this hard-charging community man, who had founded four Boy Scout troops in San Luis Obispo and Pismo on his arrival in the county, made time from June to become the active commander of the San Luis Obispo post of the American Legion.6 5. Telegram: “Quarry Building Plans Are Made,” 13 Apr. 1923, p. 1; “Quarry Road Building Begun,” 9 Apr. 1923, p. 8; “Quarry Plant Being Improved,” 27 Apr. 1923, p. 8; “Refractories Mine to Work Continuously,” 19 June 2023, p. 8. 6. “Will Organize Fourth Troop,” Tribune, 4 Dec. 1921, p. 2; “Legion Selects New Commander,” Telegram, 21 June 1924, p. 1. Page 31 of 76 14 McKinney still kept his hand in architectural engineering, the Telegram making a front-page announcement in September of his plans to construct a two-story, sixteen-unit apartment building embodying “the most modern designs” to provide for “a greater exclusiveness in apartment house life.7 The local capitalists backing it and its location were not announced, and the city’s (incomplete) surviving permit file at Cal Poly Special Collections has no record that it was ever built. The last verifiable McKinney project built appears to be the Landmark E. Taylor Smith Building at 1123–1127 Garden, built as two stores and two apartments with a façade of Flemish bond in two tones of brick, faux castellated parapet, and center segmental arch entry originally to the second-floor apartments, now preserved as part of the Hotel Cerro complex (“Roof Garden Is Added to Plans,” Telegram, 10 Aug. 1923, p. 8). In September 1924, McKinney organized a display of the mineral resources in San Luis Obispo County at a national mining exposition in Sacramento (“Minerals from County Go to Big Exhibit,” Telegram, 22 Sep. 1924, p. 1). By October his daily ads in the Tribune had changed from “Architectural Engineer” to “Consulting Engineer” (2 Oct. 1924, p. 3), and he resumed his daily ads in the Telegram with the new legend. Ever the local booster, in November he organized representatives of the Riverside Portland Cement Co. to visit lime deposits in South County (“Will Investigate Lime Deposits,” Arroyo Grande Herald-Reporter, 20 Nov. 1924, p. 5). The Pacific Coast Steel Co. appears to have lost interest in San Luis Obispo’s iron ore. By 26 February 1925, the Herald-Recorder was reporting that the Pittsburgh Mines Co. was on the verge of taking over McKinney’s 7,000 acres of leases (“Iron Ore Deposits May Be Developed, p. 1). On April 16, the Telegram predicted the future at left for San Luis, which may have horrified as many citizens as it excited. McKinney organized a local Iron Ore Development Association to capitalize the project (“Plan Working of Iron Ores withjin County,” Telegram, 18 Apr. 1925, p. 1). He was now referred to by the Telegram as a mining engineer and began discussions with a third company, Bardue Steel (“More Offers for Iron Ore Deposits Here,” 24 Apr. 1925, p. 1). The Pittsburgh Mining Co. wanted a good-faith investment of $15,000 from the people of San Luis (San Luis Obispo County’s Iron Deposits,” Herald-Recorder, 7 May 1925, p. 4); presumably this was not forthcoming. The association made arrangements to take over McKinney’s leases and have him represent them to the landowners (“Iron Ore Meet Again Tonight,” Telegram, 25 May 1925, p. 1). 7. “$35,000 Will Be Spent for Apartments,” Telegram, 10 Sep. 1924, p. 1. Page 32 of 76 15 Toward the end of 1925, William McKinney seemed to have achieved a statewide profile. In September he was named chair of the Committee on Metallic Minerals of the Mines Department of the California Development Association—but this notice also included the last mention of the Iron Ore Development Association in county newspapers. In December the State Mining Review published articles by him and the mining bureau representative for the district, but this would be the last news of McKinney at all till a notice of foreclosure of his Mount Pleasanton Square lot, number 79, for a $250 note the following May.8 The last of his daily ads of five years appeared in the Tribune on 1 January 1926. Having been constant fodder for the local papers for half a decade, with frequent front-page appearances, William McKinney simply vanished from the discourse, as did iron ore and any mention of a new Pittsburgh. What exactly happened is not clear; the collapse was not reported on; but McKinney’s name appeared for the final time in a brief sheriff’s report on lot 79’s sale for $379.12 in October 1926. Two years later, his death in San Francisco went unreported in both San Luis and Mexico, Missouri papers.9 When, more than half a century later, five of his buildings were put on the Master and Contributing Lists, none was attributed to William Whitley McKinney. 8. “M’Kinney Is Honored by Mining Men,” Telegram, 28 Sep. 1925, p. 4; “County Minerals Subject of Treatise,” Herald-Recorder, 17 Dec. 1925, p. 6; “Foreclosure Suit,” Telegram, 6 May 1926, p. 8. 9. “The Public Service: Miscellaneous,” Tribune, 27 Oct. 1926, p. 14; “McKinney,” San Francisco Chronicle, 1 Nov. 1928, p. 14. Page 33 of 76 16 The Alma Giovanotti Bungalow: Architectural Significance Alma Giovanotti was a longtime employee of the Post Office, a position that would have gained her historic significance under San Luis Obispo’s 1987 Historical Preservation Program Guidelines—“Contributions which, though minor, directly or indirectly, had a beneficial effect on the community (i.e., […] postal workers […])—but not under subsequent revisions. Given her father’s documented professions as milker and laborer, it seems reasonable to assume that the money for their investment properties came from her mother Rose’s Righetti family. The investment bungalows built by Rose Giovanotti and her daughter Alma in early 1922 are rare and significant for a number of reasons: they were • built as a pair • architect-designed Page 34 of 76 17 • conceived as contrasting variations on the California Bungalow theme, late in the California Bungalow era, with similar materials and footprints but quite different presentations. Their designer, William McKinney, had arrived in San Luis only the year before and advertised himself as an architectural engineer, though the Telegram generally referred to him as an architect. He had no documented experience designing buildings before his arrival here, having spent a career in city engineering, county surveying, and (briefly during World War I) as a supply officer in the US Army Corps of Engineers. But he had swift and a spectacular rise here, within two years designingimportant projects in San Luis Obispo and Santa Maria. Three of his buildings are Landmarks in San Luis, though the 1923 Dughi and Wickenden Buildings appear to have been added in a misapprehension that they are wood buildings of circa 1885 rather than steel of 1923 (planned for adding five stories later). They were designed for the Luigi Marre Cattle Co. and were intended to share the same parapet height with J. B. Berkemeyer’s meat market, also designed by McKinney, and now the site of Luna Red (“New Building on Chorro St. Now Planned,” Telegram, 27 June 1923, p. 8.). They were also designed to present a 92-foot frontage with Berkemeyer’s, and that they still do. The planned frontage was described as “panels of white enameled brick facing and lengthwise panels across the top of the buildings of white Kellastone terracotta with ornaments set in a darker shade of Kellastone,” with which their current stucco covering bears no resemblance. The Luigi Marre Cattle Company Building (officially Dughi and Wickenden Buildings) at left The Smith Building’s DPR 523 states, in the Significance section: “A classic example of early twentieth century common brick is this structure,” and no other justification is given for its original Master Listing. It is of workmanlike design, with the dual -shade variegated Flemish bond and faux castellation adding charm to the plain profile. Its recent incorporation into the Hotel Page 35 of 76 18 Cerro has significantly altered its fenestration but not otherwise altered its design , though the faux castellation has sadly been erased with painting. McKinney’s Landmark Smith Building in 2016 None of these Landmark buildings, however, hold a candle to the Giovanotti Bungalows. Frank Lloyd Wright’s 1903 W. R. Heath House in Buffalo (above and next page top) shows the linearity from which the Alma Giovanotti Bungalow would eventually gain its aesthetic: square columns, grouped windows, extended soffited horizontal eaves, shallow hip roofs that from the ground appear flat. Page 36 of 76 19 The flat-roofed Glendale bungalow below, published in Gustave Stickley’s The Craftsman in June 1912, shows how this Prairie School aesthetic migrated to the California Bungalow. The Craftsman referred to this as “a modern California House of the Spanish type, adding “Like all Spanish residences, the roof is flat” (Gustav Stickley, ed. Craftsman Bungalows: 59 Homes from “The Craftsman” [New York: Dover, 1988], p. 71). Page 37 of 76 20 Older Google Street Views pre-landscaping (above) make the relationship between the Alma Giovanotti and Rose Giovanotti Bungalows clear. Each has the same footprint and a front façade with a left window grouping, a central door-and-window grouping, and a right window grouping. From here, McKinney centered a classic California Bungalow chalet gable on Rose and canted an asymmetric flat-roofed, flat soffited porch on Alma. The open structure and dual columns of Rose recollect the Shinto temple origins of much of California Bungalow architecture in its California state (Midwest and Eastern architects were less purist), but the open gable also gives a symbolic air to the house : a play on the chalet gable without quite being the gableof a chalet. The two square columns are not torii-based (or elephant leg, as they have lately and incorrectly been renamed). This would be incorrect for the classic California Bungalow but are a correct echoing of Alma’s columns. Alma’s columns number three, which is perfectly correct for the “modern,” non-torii-based bungalow. Alma’s porch has a higher rectangular porch parapet, Rose a lower curved one, but both are of smooth, streamlined, unbalustraded stucco. Rose has a side-gabled roof and Page 38 of 76 21 exposed rafter tails, Alma a hip roof barely visible beyond a flat-roofed porch and deep, finished eaves. As well, Alma has a square side bay window with flat roof and Rose a canted bay with shed roof, which matches a similarly positioned canted shed-roofed bay on the Battista and Rose Giovanotti Bungalow. Above: Side bays on the Alma, Rose, and Battista and Rose Giovanotti Bungalows The Alma and Rose Bungalows invite oscillation by the viewer walking back and forth between them, because these features were never intended by McKinney to be seen simultaneously. Compared to the cynical variation of a few plastered-on elements to hide the monotony of modern tract housing, this pair is an exercise in architectural rhythm, reference, and I would go so far as to say playfulness. They are much more interesting as an essay than the unrelated buildings of LeRoy Smith and Leroy Anderson (as impressive as those houses are individually) and the unrelated Torres houses of quite different styles and no structural interplay. The interplay not only between the Alma and Rose Giovanotti Bungalows, but between the Rose-Giovanotti and Battista-and-Rose-Giovanotti Bungalows, is important for understanding all three. Here the two latter are seen in tandem as they appear on Peach Street. Page 39 of 76 22 Their images stacked, we see again William McKinney’s ability to play variations on a theme, the later bungalow with wider presentation, lower pitch, more streamlined arrangement of fenestration, and smooth stucco instead of wood. Square columns replace torii ones; a solid parapet, a balustrade; and there are no old-fashioned ogee knee brackets. The architecture of the Alma Giovanotti Bungalow cannot be understood absent the architecture of the Rose Giovanotti Bungalow, or of the Rose Giovanotti Bungalow absent the architecture of the Battista and Rose Giovanotti Bungalow. It is a bit like an Ages of Man illustration but instead the Ages of the California Bungalow. As William McKinney spent only two years designing buildings, the Alma and Rose Giovanotti Bungalows scarcely qualify for listing as the work of master, but they embody their styles of architecture in unusually developed, creative, explicit, and playful ways and are designed to an unusually high artistic standard, both criteria of architectural significance for Landmarking. Page 40 of 76 23 It is a great pity that William McKinney spent so long planning roads and supervising their macadamization, was lured away so quickly from architecture by visions of an iron ore fortune, and died so young. Page 41 of 76 24 Character-Defining Features These features include the asymmetric porch, flat porch roof, square porch and stairway columns, solid porch parapet, flat-roofed square bay, low-pitched house roof, extended and flat- soffited eaves, horizontally linear and grouped fenestration, dual front entries, stucco fabric, and footprint, fenestration, materials, and low profile shared with the Rose Giovanotti House at 1163 Peach Street. Page 42 of 76 25 Integrity The bungalow occupies its original location. It retains W. W. McKinney’s original exterior design of character-defining asymmetric porch supported by three square porch columns, dual front doors, grouped fenestration, extended eaves, and low-pitched roof. Front steps have been replaced but retain their side parapets. In materials and workmanship, the original character-defining stucco fabric remains, though unfortunately the original wood sash windows have been replaced by modern sash windows and one casement window, though the window surrounds or architraves remain. The front doors have also been recently replaced, though the solid and glass doors have been replaced with like doors (the previous solid door was likely also a replacement). The small center chimney has been removed. These losses are unfortunate but do not prevent the bungalow from communicating its architectural significance through aligning and grouping of fenestration. The setting has been altered by the City Council’s approval (on the Cultural Heritage Committee’s recommendation) of two-story buildings behind the house and one on the corner between the Alma and Rose Giovanotti Bungalows to SOI Standards. The rear houses are not visible from most angles (as intended). As for the intervening corner house, the front façades of the Giovanotti Bungalows were never viewable together; they were understood in tandem by the viewer walking by both. The eclectic suburban setting of the bungalows remains largely intact in the Mill Street Historic District. The high degree of integrity in location, design, materials, workmanship, and setting contribute to retention of feeling. As the property is not being applied for listing for historic association, integrity of association is not relevant. The Alma and Rose Giovanotti Bungalows fulfill the all three of the National Parks Service 2023 (conflicting) definitions of “high degree of integrity”: (1) “possesses […] most if not all seven aspects of integrity”; (2) “retains nearly all of those features and materials that would have characterized it during its period of significance”; (3) still possess[es] those essential physical features necessary to tell [its] story” (NHL Bulletin: Guidelines for Preparing National Historic Landmark Nominations (Washington, DC: National Parks Service, 2023), p. 64). Page 43 of 76 26 Conclusion The Alma Giovanotti Bungalow qualifies for Landmarking based on its embodiment of Prairie School–influenced California Bungalow style; its extremely rare formal and decorative interplay with the similarly footprinted and fenestrated but more traditionally Swiss chalet –based Rose Giovanotti Bungalow, designed in turn to play off the neighboring 1913 Battista and Rose Giovanotti Bungalow; and architect William McKinney’s high artistic standards in the aesthetic combination of these three buildings through his innovative design of two of them. By far the most imaginative of McKinney’s surviving buildings, and with a higher degree of integrity compared to his other three Landmarked ones, the Alma and Rose Giovanotti Bungalows are deserving of the greater attention and protection that Landmarking of the Alma Giovanotti Bungalow will bring. Page 44 of 76 CULTURAL HERITAGE COMMITTEE AGENDA REPORT SUBJECT: REVIEW OF THE REQUEST TO DESIGNATE THE PROPERTY AT 1811 CHORRO STREET AS A LANDMARK HISTORIC RESOURCE ON THE CITY’S INVENTORY OF HISTORIC RESOURCES, REFERRED TO AS THE CHARLES AND IDA PALMER HOUSE. BY: Eva Wynn, Assistant Planner FROM: Brian Leveille, Principal Planner Phone Number: (805) 781-7172 Phone Number: (805) 781-7166 Email: ewynn@slocity.org Email: bleveille@slocity.org APPLICATION NUMBER(S): HIST-0339-2026 PROJECT ADDRESS(ES): 1811 Chorro Street APPLICANT: Jennifer and Lucas Pierce REPRESENTATIVE: James Papp, PhD RECOMMENDATION Recommend the City Council designate the property at 1811 Chorro Street as a Landmark in the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources, in accordance with the City’s Historic Preservation Ordinance. 1.0 BACKGROUND The property owner(s) have requested that the property at 1811 Chorro Street be designated as a Landmark in the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources, as the Charles and Ida Palmer House (Palmer House). The applicant has provided a historic evaluation documenting the property’s eligibility for Landmark designation (Attachment A), prepared by James Papp, PhD, Historian and Architectural Historian. 2.0 DISCUSSION 2.1 Site and Setting The property at 1811 Chorro Street is located at the southern end of Chorro Street, between Church Street and Upham Street. The property is located outside any historic district, and the surrounding neighborhood is characterized by medium density residential properties. Meeting Date: 8/24/2026 Item Number: 4b Time Estimate: 30 minutes Figure 1 - 1811 Chorro Street Page 45 of 76 Item 4b HIST-0339-2026 (1811 Chorro Street) Cultural Heritage Committee Report – August 24, 2026 2.2 The Charles and Ida Palmer House According to the submitted evaluation (Attachment A), the Palmer House was constructed in 1903 for County District Attorney Charles A. Palmer and his wife, Ida Louise Blodgett Palmer. The property is noted as significant for its embodiment of the San Francisco Bay Area Dutch Colonial style, as well as its association with Charles and Ida Palmer during an important period in their respective careers and civic activities. The period of significance identified in Attachment A extends from 1903 through 1921, encompassing the Palmers' occupation of the residence, including Charles Palmer's service as District Attorney and Ida Palmer's leadership during the 1911 women's suffrage campaign. 3.0 EVALUATION Pursuant to §14.01.030 of the City’s Historic Preservation Ordinance (HPO), the Cultural Heritage Committee makes recommendations to the City Council on applications for designation of Landmarks. A Landmark, as defined in §14.01.020.28 of the HPO, is the highest level of individual local designation and may be applied to a historic resource that has been found significant at the local, state, or national level . In order to be eligible for designation, a Landmark shall be at least fifty years old, demonstrate signifi cance under at least one of the criteria outlined in §14.01.060, and retain a high degree of integrity. The HPO indicates that the National Register Bulletin No. 15: How to Apply the National Register Criteria for Evaluation should be consulted when evaluating and determining significance. Additionally, the designation of Landmark is reserved to those properties that are of the greatest importance at the local, regional, state, or national level in terms of age, architectural or historical significance, rarity, or association with important persons or events in the City’s past that meet the eligibility criteria. 3.1 Significance Criteria The submitted evaluation (Attachment A) requests that the residence at 1811 Chorro Street be designated as a Landmark for its rare architecture and association with important persons. Designation of the Palmer House is not requested for its association with Events or Information Potential. Staff has reviewed the information provided in the evaluation and under the applicable HPO criteria: Figure 2 - Location of 1811 Chorro Street Page 46 of 76 Item 4b HIST-0339-2026 (1811 Chorro Street) Cultural Heritage Committee Report – August 24, 2026 Significance Criteria - Architecture The analysis of architectural significance (pgs. 19 -21) in Attachment A provides that the Palmer House is one of only two known houses in San Luis Obispo to embody the characteristics of the San Francisco Bay Area -specific Dutch Colonial Style, also described as High-Peaked Colonial Style. The style was invented in the East Bay in 1898 and is distinguished by extending the roof to a high peak, generally reaching an almost unused third-story height and allowing the second half -story to contain normally proportioned rooms rather than spaces constrained by a low roof slope. The later of t he two San Luis Obispo examples is the Landmark 1906 LeRoy Smith House at 1306 Mill Street, in the Mill Street Historic District. The architectural significance of the Palmer House is expressed through distinctive and well-preserved character-defining features, including:  The high roof peak and acute gable angle characteristic of the High -Peaked Colonial (Dutch Colonial) form;  Dormers and rare, possibly unique, closet accent windows adapted to the high - peaked design;  The rare and well-preserved tea or living hall, expressed externally through stained-glass and diamond-paned fenestration and a Colonial Revival door;  Additional original fenestration;  The Tuscan-columned, high-peaked entry porch;  Novelty wall siding and shingle siding at the gables;  Eave modillions; and  The rare Bishop Peak granite foundation. These documented characteristics represent a distinctive architectural type and demonstrate the property's architectural significance and rarity under §14.01.060. The property's identification as one of only two known local examples, as supported by the evaluation, further establishes its rarity within San Luis Obispo. Based on the submitted documentation, staff finds that the Palmer House meets the Architecture criterion. Significance Criteria - Persons Attachment A identifies the Palmer House as significant for its association with Charles A. Palmer, a local elected official, and Ida Louise Blodgett Palmer, a local women’s suffrage leader. Charles and Ida Palmer occupied the residence while Charles served as a County District Attorney during three four-year terms, including terms from 1903–1907 and 1911–1919. His association with the property therefore encompasses a significant portion of his public career. Meanwhile, Ida Palmer served as president of the Women’s Political Equality League during the 1911 campaign for women's suffrage. California women obtained the right to vote in 1911, making Ida Palmer's role in the local suffrage campaign an important aspect of the property's historical significance. The association is particularly noteworthy because properties associated with historically significant women, and especially first-wave feminists and suffrage activists, are extremely rare (Attachment A, pgs. 1, 16-18). Page 47 of 76 Item 4b HIST-0339-2026 (1811 Chorro Street) Cultural Heritage Committee Report – August 24, 2026 The National Register Bulletin No. 15: How to Apply the National Register Criteria for Evaluation, cited by the HPO, explains that properties considered under the Persons criterion should be associated with individuals whose specific contributions can be identified and documented and should illustrate those accomplishments (pg. 14-15). In this case, the submitted evaluation identifies the Palmer House as the residence occupied by Charles and Ida Palmer during the period associated with their documented civic and professional activities. Staff concurs that the association is sufficiently direct to support consideration of the property under the Persons criterion. The evaluation also states that historic properties associated with significant women, particularly first-wave feminists and suffrage activists, as extremely rare (Attachment A, pg. 2). Staff considers this rarity, together with the documented association with Ida Palmer's leadership in the 1911 suffrage campaign, to strengthen the property's local historical significance. Based on the submitted documentation and the applicable HPO criterion, staff finds that the Palmer House meets the Persons criterion. 3.2 Integrity According to the HPO and consistent with the National Register Bulletin No. 15, integrity is defined as “the ability of a historic resource to convey its significance, typically evidenced by the retention of attributes that existed during a resource’s period of significance and including location, design, setting, materials, workmanship, feeling, and association” (HPO 14.01.020 (26)). To be included in the City’s Inventory as a Landmark, 1811 Chorro Street must meet at least one significance criteria, be among the resources with the greatest importance at the local, regional, state, or national level, and retain a high degree of integrity to communicate its significance. Attachment A provides that some additions and alterations have occurred at the Palmer House but concludes that the Palmer House retains a high degree of integrity. The property retains its original location, high-peaked design, materials, workmanship, turn- of-the-century suburban setting, feeling, and association with Charles and Ida Palmer. The surrounding residential context continues to include early twentieth -century Colonial Bungalows, Eastlake cottages, and later low-built California Bungalows. The property also retains many of the features and materials that characterized it during its 1903 –1921 period of significance, including the original foundation of Bishop Peak granite. The evaluation notes that some additions obscure portions of the original design, particularly at the sides and rear and at the porch. However, these additions (some later removed) did not destroy the character-defining features. The survival of the high-peaked architectural form and its associated character-defining features is particularly important because the property's architectural significance depends substantially on its ability to convey the distinctive Bay Area Dutch Colonial design (pgs. 22-25). Overall, the submitted evaluation documents that the Palmer House retains integrity as demonstrated by retention of the essential physical features and materials necessary to convey its significance. Although additions have altered portions of the building (primarily in the rear), they have not substantially compromised the pro perty's dominant high- peaked form, principal character-defining features, or ability to communicate its architectural and historical associations. Staff concurs that the integrity of the resource is sufficient for the property’s inclusion in the Inventory of Historic Resources. Page 48 of 76 Item 4b HIST-0339-2026 (1811 Chorro Street) Cultural Heritage Committee Report – August 24, 2026 3.3 Conclusion The submitted application requests designation of the Charles and Ida Palmer House at 1811 Chorro Street as a Landmark in the City's Inventory of Historic Resources. The submitted evaluation identifies the property as significant for its architectural character and rarity and for its association with Charles A. Palmer and Ida Louise Blodgett Palmer, and provides an analysis of the integrity of the Palmer House. Based on the submitted evaluation, staff's analysis, and the applicable criteria established by the Historic Preservation Ordinance, staff recommends that the Cultural Heritage Committee deliberate and forward a recommendation to the City Council on the property’s eligibility for Landmark designation as a resource among those of the greatest importance to the City, State, or Nation with a high degree of integrity. Staff has prepared the following findings for the Committee’s consideration: The Palmer House is eligible for historic designation for its architect ural significance and rarity because it represents one of only two known San Luis Obispo examples of the San Francisco Bay Area Dutch Colonial (or High -Peaked Colonial) style. Furthermore, the property is significant for its association with Charles A. Palmer, an early county official who served multiple terms as County District Attorney, and Ida Louise Blodgett Palmer, who the submitted evaluation identifies as president of the Women's Political Equality League during the 1911 campaign for women's suffrage. The association with Ida Palmer is particularly notable in light of the documented rarity of properties associated with historically significant women and suffrage activists. Finally, the Palmer House retains sufficient integrity to convey its architectural and historical significance. 4.0 ENVIRONMENTAL DETERMINATION This project is categorically exempt from the provisions of the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA). Inclusion of the subject property on the Landmark list of the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources does not have the potential for causing a significant effect on the environment and so is covered by the general rule described in §15061(b)(3) of the CEQA Guidelines. 5.0 ACTION ALTERNATIVES 1. Staff Recommendation: Recommend the City Council designate the property at 1811 Chorro Street as a Landmark in the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources, including Staff’s findings and noted elements of the property which satisfy Evaluation Criteria for Landmark listing as a resource of the greatest level of importance at the local, regional, state, or national level and that the property retains a high degree of integrity. Page 49 of 76 Item 4b HIST-0339-2026 (1811 Chorro Street) Cultural Heritage Committee Report – August 24, 2026 2. Recommend to the City Council that the property not be designated as a Landmark in the City’s Inventory of Historic Resources, based on the finding that the property does not satisfy Evaluation Criteria to be a Landmark Historic Resource as there is not sufficient information to support that the property is of the greatest importance at the local, regional, state, or national level, and/or does not retain a high degree of integrity. 3. Continue consideration of the request with direction to the applicant and staff on any needed information or analysis in order to reach a recommendation. 6.0 ATTACHMENTS A - Historic Resource Evaluation - 1811 Chorro Street Page 50 of 76 1 The Charles and Ida Palmer House 1811 Chorro Street Historic Resource Evaluation and Master List Application Summary Conclusion The 1903 Charles A. Palmer House at 1811 Chorro is “of the greatest importance at the local level … in terms of architectural … significance, rarity … and association with important persons in the City’s past.” It retains the high degree of integrity to convey its significance. As such it is eligible as a San Luis Obispo Landmark. Architectural significance The Palmer House is of the greatest importance in terms of architectural significance and rarity for being the first of only two houses in San Luis Obispo to embody the characteristics of the San Francisco Bay Area–specific Dutch Colonial Style, more recently known as High-Peaked Colonial. (The later of the two houses is the Landmark 1906 LeRoy Smith House at 1306 Mill in the Mill Street Historic District.) The style, innovated in the East Bay in 1898, extended the roof to a high peak at an almost always unused third-story height, allowing the second half story to contain normal rooms rather than ones cramped by a low slope. Page 51 of 76 2 Association with important persons in the City’s past The Palmer House is of the greatest importance locally for being for being built for, and occupied by, County District Attorney Charles A. Palmer, a reforming early county official, during the period of his significance—including his three four-year terms as DA—and his wife Ida Louise Blodgett Palmer, president of the Women’s Political Equality League during the 1911 campaign for women’s suffrage, when California women finally gained the right to vote. Houses associated with historically significant women, particularly first-wave feminists, are extremely rare. Period of Significance The period of significance extends through C. A. Palmer and Ida Palmer’s occupation, 1903–1921, while he served as District Attorney in 1903–1907 and 1911– 1919 and while she led the local women’s suffrage campaign in 1911. Character-Defining Features The architectural significance of the Palmer House resides in its high peak and acute gable angle; dormers and rare —possibly unique—closet accent windows that adapt to this design; the rare and well preserved tea or living hall, expressed externally in stained- glass and diamond-paned fenestration and Colonial Revival door; additional original fenestration; Tuscan-columned and high-peaked entry porch; novelty wall siding and shingle gable siding; eave modillions; and rare Bishop Peak granite foundation. The historic significance is expressed through the association of these features with Charles and Ida Palmer. High Degree of Integrity The Palmer House “possesses […] most if not all seven aspects of integrity, … retains nearly all of those features and materials that would have characterized it during its period of significance, [… and] still possess[es] those essential physical features necessary to tell [its] story,” as “high degree of integrity” is defined by the Secretary of the Interio r for the National Historic Landmarks Program since 2023—though the secretary adds that these are not to be taken as “one-size-fits-all” or “rigid” standards. The Palmer House retains its location, high-peaked design, materials, workmanship, turn-of-the- century suburban setting, and feeling and association with Charles and Ida Palmer, who would clearly recognize it if they returned from their well earned rest . James Papp, PhD • Historian & Architectural Historian, City & County of San Luis Obispo 964 Chorro St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401 • 805 -470-0983 • papp.architectural.history@gmail.com Research assistance by N. Y. North. Submitted 1 June 2026 on behalf of Jennifer and Lucas Pierce Page 52 of 76 3 Contents Summary Conclusion 1 Timeline: Occupancy 4 Timeline: Alterations 5 A Brief Historiographic Context for Evaluating Landmark Applications 9 Palmer House Construction and Preservation History 14 Historic Significance 16 Historic Association: Event 16 Historic Association: Persons, Charles and Ida Palmer 11 Architectural Significance 19 Embodiment of Distinctive Characteristics of a Type 12 Work of a Master 21 High Artistic Standards 21 Information Potential 21 Integrity to Convey Significance 22 Conclusion 26 Page 53 of 76 4 Timeline: Occupancy 1903 Feb. 28 The house of District Attorney C. A. Palmer (1862–1926) is “well along toward completion” (“Rubble Stone Foundations,” San Luis Obispo Tribune, p. 4). 1909 C. A. Palmer’s house is advertised for rent (“For Rent—C. A. Palmer’s house,” Daily Telegram, 6 July–10 Sep., pp. 4, 7, and 16). 1913–1921 Charles A. Palmer, his wife Ida, and family continue to be located at 1811 Chorro in news items by the Telegram (“Entertaining Guest,” 14 June 1913, p. 5; “March 11—WCTU at Mrs. C. A. Palmer’s Home,” 10 Mar. 1921, p. 5). They subsequently move to 1134 Palm Street. 1922 Frederick and Mary Willut are living at 1811 Chorro when Mary dies in hospital and Frederick dies at home (“Frederick Willut and Wife Die in Same Hour Sunday,” Telegram, 9 Oct. 1922, p. 8). 1923 Ewell and Ida Cox transfer a house on High Street to George P. Kegel in exchange for the Palmer House at 1811 Chorro (“Property Transferred,” Telegram, 7 Apr. 1923, p. 5). 1924–1958 Ewell Cox (1885–1956), Southern Pacific signalman, is living at 1811 Chorro (“To Share in Patent Money,” Telegram, 12 Feb. 1924, p. 1). Despite rumors of accession to a large oil fortune from his brother, he continues to live at 1811 with his wife Ida through 1954 (Polk’s San Luis Obispo City Directory) and presumably to his 1956 death (tombstone, San Luis Cemetery, findagrave.com), renting furnished rooms and a furnished apartment, with two to three lodgers appearing in each of the 1930, 1940, and 1950 censuses (and the Coxes’ son and daughter in 1930). Ida Cox continues in residence through 1958 (Polk’s) as a widow. 1960–1976 Residents recorded at 1811 Chorro in Polk’s change too often to establish association. Page 54 of 76 5 Timeline: Alterations 1903 Construction of the Palmer House at 1811 Chorro on a Bishop Peak granite foundation. 1905 The 1905 Sanborn Map reveals a one-story, three-space lean-to attached to the rear of the house and most of its width. The two side spaces are likely porches; the dotted lines signifying this are clearer on the 1909 map. The rear lean -to with porches was presumably added between 1903 and 1905, as the Bishop Peak granite perimeter foundation ends with the 1½-story house. The front entry porch has not yet been added in 1905. Orientation: 1811 Chorro in 1905, 1909, 1926, and today, showing lot changes 1905 Sanborn Map 1926 Sanborn Map 1909 Sanborn Map Current Google Satellite view 1906 An anonymous 1906 panoramic three-part photograph taken from Terrace Hill (Special Collections and Archives, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo; detail on page 1) shows the columned entry porch and south porch of the rear lean-to. The entry Page 55 of 76 6 Top left to right: 1905 Sanborn Map, showing rear lean-to with side porches; 1909 Sanborn, showing entry porch and canted bay; and 1926 Sanborn, showing extended but open front porch, southeast nearly full-length lean-to and the removal of the original rear lean-to and its replacement by the current extension and side- porch. Bottom left to right: 1963 aerial photo, showing an entry extension to the southeast addition extending to the right; and current Google Satellite image, showing the 1998 rear glass extension. The glass extension has since been removed, along with its neighboring bedroom extension to the left. Page 56 of 76 7 porch does not yet have its Chinese Chippendale railing. The photograph also shows the southeast dormer, which currently accommodates a bathroom (and likely did then) and is probably original. The northwest dormer is necessary to accommodate the stairs to the second story so is certainly original 1909 The 1909 Sanborn Map shows a canted bay has been added to the northwest side. It currently has no center window. This was a common form in the era, though not the most typical form, and is likely original. This is the last documented addition of the Palmer era, though the family continued to live there for another 12 years. 1923 During 9–13 February, furnished rooms and a furnished apartment are being offered at 1811 Chorro, which suggests that the house has been expanded at the ground level either to the side or rear (or both) (“For Rent,” p. 4). No such ads appear in the Palmer era, and Ida and Charles Palmer, according to the 1920 US Census, were living only with their two daughters, which suggests the house was expanded soon after sale. By 7 Apr., Ewell and Ida Cox have acquired the property. By 9 Apr., they begin to advertise bedrooms with bath; Apr. 14, furnished rooms with bath (“For Rent,” Telegram, p. 4); and 28 Apr.–5 May, “Lot, corner of Church and Chorro,” the undeveloped half of the property (“For Sale,” Telegram, p. 4). 1926 The 1926–1956 Sanborn Map book (History Center of San Luis Obispo County) shows an open porch extended south from the entry porch on the front of the house and lean-to on the south side almost the length of the house. The original lean-to on the rear appears to have been removed and replaced with a longer, narrower extension with an open side porch. This appears to be the same dimensions as the current extension, including a bedroom and bath. The side lean - to currently holds three rooms divided by two walls: a front kitchen and bedroom as part of the same suite (with a wall between them, the connection being a room in the main house with a side door on the now-enclosed front entry porch for ingress) and a rear kitchen connected to the main part of the house (with another interposing wall in the lean-to). 1929 Ewell Cox applies for a four-stall garage permit and in 1930 begins to advertise “Bedroom with bath; garage” (16 Sep. 1929, San Luis Obispo Building Permits Collection, 1906–1937, Special Collections and Archives, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo; “For Rent Rooms,” Telegram, 20 Feb. 1930, p. 5). 1930 Ewell Cox applies for a permit for “frame remodel to convert to 3 rm. Apt” (14 Apr. 1930, collection cited). On 13 July 1931 he begins to advertise, “Cool downstairs 4 rm unfur apt” (“Apartments for Rent, Telegram, p. 7). This is likely the southeast side addition, possibly including enclosure of the front porch. 1932 Ewell Cox applies on 11 February for an “8’ by 8’ sun-rm addition of siding and glass” (collection cited). This is likely a rear addition on the southeast lean-to, which is eight feet deep. It goes unrecorded on the Sanborn Map. 1940 “Cosy 3 room apartment with fireplace, garage” is being advertised at 1811 Chorro, suggesting the entry hall is included in this configuration or has been walled in. The Cox children are no longer living in the house, according to the US Census for that year. Page 57 of 76 8 1954 Ewell Cox receives a permit to repair and remodel front porch at 1811 Chorro (“City Permits $30,000; Two New Homes,” Telegram-Tribune, 26 Mar. p. 5). 1963 Aerial photo shows the addition of an entry porch (6’ x 6.5’) on the southeast addition extending toward the southeast (Flight IMC-349, frame 17-122B, 20–24 July 1963, Blaine Thompson Aerial Photography, UCSB Aerial Photography Collection) 1998 The next permit for an addition appears to be for the glass “patio room at rear deck, permitted 17 Feb. 1998. 2026 The 1998 glass extension, a fire hazard from reflection, and the circa 1923 rear bedroom extension are removed. Page 58 of 76 9 A Brief Historiographic Context for Evaluating Landmark Applications At the dawn of the formally organized preservation movement, the federal government, through the National Register of Historic Places, created a set of criteria that would allow any small community to document and celebrate its local built history, through • association with the community’s important events or historic trends; • association with leaders of their profession, industry, or community, or with significant artists of inventors; or • as displaying the characteristics of particular architectural types or construction methods or periods, as examples of the work of master builders or architects, or examples of high artistic values. Integrity of location, design, materials, workmanship, setting, feeling, and association had to be sufficient to convey the resource’s significance: as a rule of thumb, it had to retain “the features without which a property can no longer be identified as, for instance, a late-nineteenth-century dairy barn or an early-twentieth-century commercial district” (How To Apply the National Register Criteria for Evaluation, p. 46). These criteria gave wide leeway for communities to landmark their historic buildings and districts in terms of their local significance, including resources that had suffered considerable decay or had undergone (or could ideally undergo) considerable adaptive reuse—for the historic preservation movement went hand in hand, for federal purposes, with the urban renewal movement. Nonetheless, San Luis Obispo’s Historic Preservation Program began in the 1980s with such an acute inferiority complex that it established guidelines of significance even more lenient than those of the National Register and never mentioned integrity at all. Where the NRHP defined a historically significant person as a community leader or someone significant in their professional field, San Luis Obispo’s 1987 guidelines included as a significant person anyone who had made “[c]ontributions which, though minor, directly or indirectly, had a beneficial effect on the community (i.e., firemen, law enforcement officers, postal workers, businessmen/shopkeepers, city employees, etc.).” Clearly, the Historic Resource Evaluation’s researchers were relieved to find any past occupants of buildings they wanted to save, and any occupant would have to do. Where past occupants were found, however, the vast majority of DPR [California Department of Parks and Recreation form] 523 evaluations from the 1980s gave no clue as to whether it was the occupant, historic trend, architecture, or construction method that was the source of significance. Historic Preservation in San Luis Obispo (and America in general) does not exist in an idealized vacuum but has always been a function of social , political, and economic goals confronting practical realities. Preservation—whether in the sense of the maintenance of older properties or the idea that older properties are important to our sense of community history —has often been the preserve of the wealthy. The federal push for historic preservation in the late 1960s and early 1970s was, conversely, justified with the goal of urban renewal of once grand, by then decayed, even ghettoized areas. Conversely again, such preserved and restored areas usually then became gentrified and unaffordable to their then occupants. San Luis Obispo’s historic properties, once available unrestored for a few tens of thousands of dollars, now go for multiple millions. The City of San Luis Obispo first identified potential historic properties and districts in the 1970s as part of federal Housing and Urban Development (HUD) grants. The criteria used for inclusion and ranking have not been preserved. Page 59 of 76 10 San Luis Obispo’s Historic Resources Survey followed in 1982 –1983, with the establishment in 1987 of the Master List of 151 historic resources and 130 “Contributing Properties within Historical Preservation Districts.” The grandly named Master List was not a list of masterworks but merely a master list of resources of five degrees: properties on the National Register, “determined to be eligible” for the National Register, “eligible” for the National Register, “potentially eligible” for the National Register, and “not eligible” for the National Register. It is not clear how these ratings were made and why properties were put on or left off the list. For instance, of the city’s four Double -Bay-Front Eastlake cottages, all in historic districts, the Goldtree - McCaffrey Building, converted into as building and the least integrity, was rated potentially eligible for the National Register and the Lewin House not eligible; while the McCabe House was not included on the Master List and Dana-Barneberg House (with the highest degree of integrity) not even on the Contributing List. The 1987 Historic Preservation Program Guidelines that established the Master List never mentioned integrity, and it was rarely cited in the state DPR 523 form that was filled out for each resource on the Master List. The Master List reveals a fundamental misunderstanding of the National Register as a national register of locally significant resources. In reality, most Contributing List properties—which San Luis considered not even eligible to be “not eligible for the National Register”—would qualify. The one statistical difference between the Master List and the Contributing List were that those buildings on the former were bigger and those on the latter were smaller. I have discerned no other consistent difference over a decade of comparing the two lists. In 2010 San Luis seems to have engaged in bout o f reactive pearl-clutching, as, with the passage of Historic Preservation Ordinance in 2010, it caromed to the opposite extreme of exclusivity, imposing integrity standards that bizarrely matched those of National Historic Landmarks (the highest standard of federal designation) and significance standards of rarity and uniqueness , which are absent, for good reason, from any criteria at the national level. NRHP and National Landmark resources are supposed to be representative, not eccentric one-offs. The result was an unsustainably bifurcated system torn between old-lax and new-rigid—and an instantaneous return to earth. The first Master Listing after passage of the 2010 ordinance was the 1874 Norcross House, the significance of which was attributed to its construction and occupation by then–county sheriff D. C. Norcross (1872–1876), clearly a leader of his law enforcement profession and community but scarcely a rare or unique one: in fact, little is known of him. The integrity of the Norcross House had been severely compromised by the replacement of its original two-over-two 1870s street façade windows with early-twentieth-century Colonial Revival diamond pane and plate glass windows, the replacement of its original balcony French window with a Colonial Revival window, and the replacement of its balcony and supporting front porch with a pergola-style porch sometime after the 1930s. Subsequently, the CHC further compromised its integrity by allowing demolition of the original rear wing, documented in Carleton Watkins’ iconic 1876 panoramic photograph of San Luis Obispo from the west , two years after the house was built and during Norcross’s occupation. (The present author voted against this inexplicable act of vandalism, passed to suit a developer who has since fled the state under threat of indictment.) Through the 2010s and early 2020s, CHC practice and precedent accepted that a property’s association with an early official or other professional leader (in line with NRHP Criteria) or status as a unique, earliest, or best exemplification of an architectural style within a historic district justified Master Listing. Page 60 of 76 11 Master Listings from this period include the • 1876 Robert Pollard House, whose significance was shared by Pollard’s service as County Coroner, daughter Frances Pollard’s involvement as the only woman in the founding of the local of the International Typographical Union, and later resident Pauline Bray Martin’s work as the first woman bank clerk in San Luis Obispo • 1874 Lozelle and Katie Flickinger Graham House, as the oldest documented house in its original condition and location in the Railroad District and an embodiment of Italianate architecture at cottage scale • 1936 Edla Muir House and Garage for their design by leading California woman architect Edla Muir, rare San Luis construction by F. C. Stolte (the contractor for Hearst Castle), and embodiment the distinctive characteristics of Lutyensesque Late Georgian Revival • Circa 1888 Virginia Levering Latimer House, as the surviving Italianate house with the best integrity in the Mill Street Historic District • 1907 Thomas and May Brecheen House, for embodying the distinctive characteristics of Colonial Bungalow form with a unique attention to simplicity and geometry • 1931–1932 E. E. Christopher House, embodying the transition from revival to abstract aesthetics in the Minimal Traditional, with high artistic standards shown in its rhythmic gables, rare barrel-vaulted living room, and extremely rare tower -room swagged ceiling • 1962 Ken and Martha Schwartz, 1962 Pimentel -Orth, and 1966 Page-Selkirk Houses, for their Modernist and Futurist design by local master architect Ken Schwartz, FAIA, and the first for its association with Ken Schwartz as a professional and community leader . • 1926 Tiny Mart (now High Street Deli), as the first Black-owned business in San Luis Obispo where the owners (Frank and Alberta Bell) were also allowed, in 1966, to purchase the premises • circa 1880s D. M. and Carrie Proper Meredith House for D. M. Meredith’s early roles in education and finance and for its Swiss Revival architecture • Theresa Torres True House (between 1891 and 1905), for being the only Queen Anne cottage in the Mill Street Historic District (though it is, in fact, Eastlake, and there are other Eastlake and Queen Anne cottages in the district) • Leonard Hill House, despite a half-story addition to the roof, judged significant as John Chapek’s first project as a professional contractor (not true: Chapek’s surviving John T. Anderson House at 1946 Chorro [Tribune: “Proceedings in County Offices,” 24 Oct. 1902, p. 3, and 25 Dec. 1902, p. 2; “John T. Anderson Buys,” 19 Feb. 1903, p. 4], Chapek Cottage at 1041 Leff [Tribune: 25 Feb. 1903, “Will Build Two Houses,” p. 1; “Recorder’s Office: Wm Duff to John Chapek,” 25 Feb. 1903, p. 4], and William Alberts House at 865 Buchon [“Buys to Build,” Tribune, 23 Apr. 1904, p. 4], all unlisted, and Landmark Hourihan House at 860 Buchon [“Work to Begin,” Tribune, 15 Sep. 1904, p. 1] predate the Hill House, as well as several since demolished) • Dana-Barneberg House (between 1886 and 1891) for its “Victorian vernacular” (in fact Eastlake double-bay-front) architecture and association with early county clerk Charles William Dana, businessman John Wesley Barneberg, and social activist Grace Barneberg (though the house Page 61 of 76 12 was constructed years after Dana sold the property, and Grace Barneberg did not inhabit it during the period of her significance ) As for the high level of integrity demanded by the 2010 HPO, the US Department of the Interior helpfully defined “integrity” for National Register nominations and “high degree of integrity” for National Landmark nominations in 1997 and 1999, respectively, as seen below: How to Apply the National Register Criteria for Evaluation (Washington, DC: Department of the Interior, 1997) Assessing Integrity in Properties (pp. 45–49) A property that is significant for its historic association is eligible if it retains the essential physical features that made up its character or appearance during the period of its association with the important event, historical pattern, or person(s). If the property is a site (such as a treaty site) where there are no material cultural remains, the setting must be intact. (p. 46) A property important for illustrating a particular architectural style or construction technique must retain most of the physical features that constitute that style or technique. A property that has lost some historic materials or details can be eligible if it retains the majority of the features that illustrate its style [my italics] in terms of the massing, spatial relationships, proportion, pattern of windows and doors, texture of materials, and ornamentation. The property is not eligible, however, if it retains some basic features conveying massing but has lost the majority of the features that once characterized its style. (p. 46) How to Prepare National Historic Landmark Nominations (Washington, DC: US Department of the Interior, 1999) Defining a High Degree of Integrity (pp. 36–37) A property that is significant for its historical association should retain the essential physical features that made up its character or appearance during the period of its association with the important event, historical pattern, or person(s). If the property is a site where there are no material cultural remains, such as a battlefield, the setting must be intact. If the historic building associated with the event, pattern, or person no longer exists, the property has lost its historical integrity. (p. 37) A property important for illustrating a particular architectural style or construction technique must retain the physical features that constitute that style or technique. A property that has lost some historic materials or details can be considered if it retains the majority of the features that illustrate its style [my italics] in terms of the massing, spatial relationships, proportion, pattern of windows and doors, texture of materials, and ornamentation. A property should not be considered if it retains some basic features conveying massing but has lost the majority of the features that once characterized its style. (p. 37) If these two definitions look the same, it is because they are. In 2023 “High degree of integrity” was loosened with a “qualitative framework” to allow more nontraditional (non -White) resources as National Landmarks. Yet Manzanar has long been a National Landmark with only three of its 830 original buildings surviving, while the Theodore Roosevelt is a reconstruction built after his death , and as someone who has visited and been moved by both, I would argue for the expulsion of neither. The reality is that what is chosen to be historically preserved rarely replicates a great chain of being of significance and integrity. Historic preservation is motivated sometimes by the cultural interest, Page 62 of 76 13 sometimes the economic interests, and sometimes by the emotions of property owners, sometimes by the interests of NIMBYs (i.e., nearby property owners), most rarely by professional or amateur preservationists or government officials when they see important and irreplaceable resources threatened with irreversible destruction. As well, historic resource surveys and historic resource evaluations are imperfect documents, often subsequently contradicted by newly available data and more rigorous analysis. There are currently about 15,000 structures in the City of San Luis Obispo. Around 200 of these are Landmarks, or about 1.3 percent, and 500 are Local Register Resources, or about 3.3 percent , concentrated in the roughly one square mile that was originally historically surveyed in our now- thirteen-square-mile city. Add Landmarks, Local Register Resources, and a few dozen overlooked unlisted resources together, and they still comprise less than 5 percent of the city’s building stock— hence are “of the greatest importance” locally, if “greatest importance” is understood in its technical, grammatical sense as a comparative rather than its rhetorical, Barnumesque sense as a superlative phrase. Old buildings, let alone architecturally or historically significant buildings, represent a tiny sliver of our resources. Most Local Register Resources already fulfill the significance and integrity criteria of the National Register of Historic Places and California Register of Historical Resources (and, under the new SLO HPO, if placed on either of these registers, they would automatically become City Landmarks). Probably only one or two dozen resources in the city fulfill the significance and integrity standards of National Historic Landmarks for “exceptional value in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States” or California Historical Landmarks for being th e first, last, only, or most significant of its type in the state; associated with profound influence on California history; or prototypes or outstanding examples of architecture or construction or of master architects or builders. But in the City of San Luis Obispo there are currently no National Historic Landmarks and only three California Historical Landmarks (the Mission, Dallidet Adobe, and Ah Louis Store, the most recent designated in 1965). It would be a useful CHC discussion to identify additional candidates and plan their nomination. Nevertheless, for the most part, it is our local events, locally prominent figures, and locally significant architecture and building methods that tell our story—explain our meaning—as a community. With fewer than 5 percent of our structures protected, and the state legislature parroting the YIMBY/developer thesis that the cause of the housing crisis is not accelerating polarization of wealth and poverty but too many old buildings —with their already-embodied carbon, cost, and culture—standing in the way of unaffordable new ones, San Luis Obispo seems in little danger of over-preserving. Yes, the CHC’s job is to police preservation, but its founding purpose is also to promote preservation, the stories it sustains, and the meaning it enhances. Page 63 of 76 14 Palmer House Construction and Preservation History The primary residence at 1811 Chorro Street was constructed in 1903 on a foundation of Bishop Peak granite for then–District Attorney Charles A. Palmer and suffragist Ida Palmer by John Horton, assisted by Albert and Harry Lyman—the first documented construction project of Harry Lyman, who would go on to be a master San Luis Obispo builder-architect. Left: The San Luis Obispo Tribune, 28 February 1903, p. 4, on the use of Bishop Peak granite in the construction of the Palmer House and documenting for the first time Harry Lyman’s involvement in a construction project. Above: The Palmer House in 1906 (detail from a panorama from Terrace Hill, Cal Poly Special Collections). Below: The Palmer House in 1982, photographed for the Historic Resources Survey, showing a front porch added and enclosed. Page 64 of 76 15 In the city’s 1983 Historic Resources Survey it was identified as the “‘old’ Cox home,” referencing its long occupation (1923–1958) by Southern Pacific signalman Ewell Cox and his wife, also Ida. Its Bishop Peak granite foundation was noted and its style denominated “Eastern Shingle.” “Eastern Shingle” is not a category that occurs in 1970s or 1980s historic architecture guides, and it is puzzling why San Luis’s surveyors should have used it for buildings in the West, but they did for Eastlake and Colonial Revival buildings that were fully shingled (the LeRoy Smith House), gable shingled (the Aston House), or even minimally shingled in the gable peak (the Brooks House). “Shingle Style” (neither Eastern nor Western) is a term invented by Yale architectural historian for his 1955 book The Shingle Style: Architectural Theory and Design from Richardson to the Origins of Wright. The phrase took hold of the public imagination (or the imaginations of authors of American architectural guidebooks) in the early preservation era, though it was never how architects and builders of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries thought of their own work. For them, Queen Anne, Eastlake, Elizabethan, Colonial, etc. were styles, whereas shingle, clapboard, brick, stone, stucco, etc., were cladding. What Scully suggested, which is that America’s predominant wood construction materials influenced our popular architecture, is a reasonable conclusion, but what his less careful readers concluded, which is that every building with shingle-clad walls is a style distinct from other styles, falls apart as soon as you replace the shingles with clapboard or novelty siding—or remove the shingles to find (as with the aforementioned Aston House) original clapboard beneath—yet realize that it’s as Swiss, Queen Anne, Colonial, Eastlake, or Prairie as it ever was. In fact, the Palmer House is an example of a style at the time called Dutch Colonial in the Bay Area (article at right), consisting of houses with a usually street-facing gable of extremely acute angle and drawn up to a third story in height (though only the first and the second half story were generally habitable). It may well have evolved from the gambrel roofs commonly considered characteristic of wood Dutch Colonial Revival in the rest of the United States. Oakland Enquirer, 12 June 1899, p. 3 Conservation Area #1 from the city’s 1979 Historical and Architectural Conservation Element was originally drawn to include 1811 Chorro, but when it ultimately became the Old Town Historic District, it looped, for unknown reasons, away that section of Chorro and Garden. Hence 1811 Chorro was never Contributing or (unlike the cater-corner Aston House) Master Listed. Page 65 of 76 16 Historic Significance Historic Association: Event Contemporary newspapers report no significant event at 1811 Chorro Street. Historic Association: Person The house is “of the greatest importance at the local level” for its association with C. A. Palmer, an early local official, who lived there from 1903 to 1921, during his three terms as county district attorney: 1903–1907, 1911–1915, and 1915–1919, and for its association with Ida Palmer, who was a local women’s suffrage leader during the successful campaign to extend the vote to women in California in 1911. Ida Palmer also lived in the house from 1903 to 1921, including the period of her significance as a suffragist The subsequent long-term residents, Southern Pacific signalman Ewell Cox and his wife Ida, from 1923 to (respectively) 1956 and 1958, do not rise to the level of historic significance, as neither had a leadership role in profession or community. Charles A. Palmer (right, from 28 May 1910 p. 1 Telegram article, “Mr. Palmer to Make the Race Against Nelson”) was born in 1862 in Nevada County, graduated from the University of Michigan law school in 1890, came to San Luis Obispo to practice law in 1894, and was nominated on the Republican ticket for county district attorney in 1898 and elected in 1902, 1910, and 1914 to four-year terms. He ran again in 1918 and 1922 and was not elected but served as assistant district attorney 1924–1926, dying 25 January 1926 at age 63. He also served 15 years on the city school board, including as president (“Attorney Charles A. Palmer Expires Here: Pioneer in County Law Dies at Noon,” Morning Tribune, 26 Jan. 1926, p. 1). The Herald-Recorder noted his reputation for mercy and leniency (“C. A. Palmer Passes to Last Rest,” 28 Jan. 1926, p. 1 ). As an early local official who resided at 1811 Chorro during his period of significance, he lends historical significance to the property under the terms of the city’s Historic Preservation Ordinance. In the new age of the automobile, and at the beginning of his second term, Palmer called for enforcement of the state’s new legislation making intoxicated driving a misdemeanor: “District Attorney Urges Enforcement of New Law” (Telegram, 26 Sep. 1911, p. 2). He criticized the laxity of police in enforcement and urged the law’s universal benefit. At the beginning of his third term, he started an investigation of local reckless driving in concert with the Highway Commission and again promised prosecutions. He followed up by spending a day with the sheriff at Templeton and Paso Robles investigating a drunk driving incident and made front page news by prosecuting the driver, ranch hand Glenn Heaton, who pleaded guilty and apparently had no subsequent run -ins with the law (“Glenn Heaton to Be Prosecuted,” Telegram, 7 Mar. 1917, p.1). Hands-on and hard-charging, Palmer pursued investigations for illegal gambling and bootlegging, accompanying officers on nighttime raids in remote sections of the county and charging prominent Page 66 of 76 17 citizens, such as Jake See, a candidate for sheriff.1 He even charged a peace officer with murder, though the jury quickly acquitted (“Frank Bardin Not Guilty Says Jury after Thirty Minutes Deliberation,” Telegram, 8 Sep. 1913, p. 1). Scrupulous about the law, Palmer could also show up to city council meetings to support aggrieved citizens, suggesting ways to keep steam laundries and creameries out of residential districts (“Doings of City Trustees,” 8 Aug. 1905, p. 4), and he repeatedl y consulted the state attorney general on local legal dilemmas. On one occasion, he prosecuted a couple on a motorcycle trip from Los Angeles to Marysville for setting a grassfire, then helped pay their $25 judgment when the woman burst into tears (“Secures Conviction; Chips in on Fine,” Telegram, 10 Aug. 1912, p. 1). Meanwhile, Ida Palmer became an organizer for women’s suffrage. Having come to California as an infant by covered wagon, she worked as a teacher in Yolo and San Joaquin Counties and, after marrying Charles Palmer and arriving here in 1894, also taught in the one -room schools of rural San Luis as late as 1907, well after her husband became district attorney, so it was clearly a labor of love or duty, as with other privileged women teaching in our one-room schools, like Grace Barneberg (“School Notes,” Telegram, 11 Feb. 1908, p. 6). Ida Palmer was documentably a competent committeewoman. For instance, 1904 saw her become secretary of the Southside Improvement Club, during a meeting held in the Palmer House, while she was also serving as president of the Ladies Aid Society of the Congregational Church.2 But it was as a local suffrage leader, when votes for women was finally to pass in California, that she became documentably historically significant, a community leader intersecting with a historic trend. Fifteen years earlier, in 1896, California had voted on women’s suffrage. Susan B. Anthony tirelessly canvassed the state and stayed a night in San Luis with the wife of the Southern Pacific stationmaster (address unknown; the family did not preserve the s ite but built a new house the next year). She spoke at the Männerchorhalle at 742 Marsh (more recently the site of the Bluebird and LS Co. hair salons). Rural areas, dominated by the sexually egalitarian Grange, ended up voting for women’s suffrage, while the big cities (San Francisco, Oakland, and Los Angeles), dominated by the political machines that had the most to lose, voted against. San Luis Obispo County voted for, the city very slightly against. In the end, Idaho passed votes for women that year, and California’s campaign went down to defeat. Ida Palmer had just moved to San Luis two years before, but we have no documentation of her involvement. Fifteen years later, however, Ida Palmer was appointed chair of the first meeting of “the ladies who are actively interested in the progress of the movement for the enfranchisement of women,” held at the Congregational Church August 23, 1911, which made front page news above the fold in the Telegram, which supported the movement. She soon became the league’s founding president.3 The Women’s Political Equality League was a San Luis–based group that was affiliated with the 1. “50 Years Ago,” Telegram-Tribune, 16 July 1962, p. 6; “Charges Jake See with Complicity,” 22 July 1918, p. 1 2. (“Organized for Business,” Tribune, 16 Apr. 1904, p. 4; “Aid Society’s Report,” Tribune, 3 Feb. 1904, p. 1. 3. Telegram: “Organize League of Suffrage,” 24 Aug. 1911, p. 1; “Notice,” 28 Sep. 1911, p. 5. Page 67 of 76 18 Central Equality League in Los Angeles, bringing guest speakers from that city. It made news for large attendance, and soon spread to Paso Robles.4 This time, the referendum in October passed, in San Luis County, San Luis City, and California as a whole, changing the political landscape not only for women but also for men and their political parties. Not content with leading the local women’s suffrage movement, the following year Ida Palmer was representing the Congregational Church in women’s effort to educate new voters (“Women to Study Political Needs through New Class,” Telegram, 23 Feb. 1912, p. 8). 4. Telegram:; “Political Equality League Has Meeting,” 26 Aug. 1911, p. 4; “Political Equality League Has Meeting This Afternoon," Sep 14, 1911, p. 8; “Political Equality League Organized in Paso Robles,” 11 Sep. 1911, p. 1. Page 68 of 76 19 Architectural Significance Embodiment of Type The Charles and Ida Palmer House is one of two in San Luis Obispo that embody the popular San Francisco Bay Area style known, at the turn of the twentieth century, when it was being built, as Dutch Colonial but, since the turn of the twenty-first century, as High-Peaked Colonial (see p. 15, “Realty and Building: Remarkable Popularity of the Dutch Colonial Style,” from the Oakland Enquirer, 12 June 1899). Absent some compelling reason, using the historic rather than a modern term for an architectural style should be the default, as this communicates the contemporary content and understanding. The Oakland Enquirer records J. H. Simpson introducing Dutch Colonial in the East Bay and putting up 10 houses, with A. W. Smith building 27 from the beginning of 1898 through mid 1899. Berkeley has some 200 survivors, according to berkeleyheritage.com; they also populate Oakland and San Francisco. The 1½-story Dutch Colonial Bungalow was known elsewhere in the United States but was much more likely to be gambrel roofed. Below, a plain peaked roof—squatter than the Bay Area version—is sandwiched between gambrels in Tonawanda, NY, all three with later roof lines expanding their cubic footage in strikingly inelegant fashion. J. H. Simpson House by A. W. Smith, Oakland, 1898 (Daniella Thompson, “High-Peaked Colonial, a Bay Area Phenomenon,” 14 Mar. 2006, berkeleyheritage.com) Bay Area Dutch Colonials almost always occupy narrow suburban lots with street-facing gables. San Luis’s other example, however—the LeRoy Smith House (architect William H. Weeks, 1906), above—occupies a corner, where its long side on Mill becomes its entrance façade. (Its shed dormers are original.) San Luis has a non–Bay Area–style, gambrel-roofed Dutch Colonial with street-facing gable (the circa 1908–1912 Landmark Bullard House, 1624 Morro); two Colonial Revival corner houses, with both gambrel and plain gables in cruciform (the 1903º1904 Landmark Aston House [1746 Chorro, and 1903–1904 Landmark Judge Unangst House [1720 Johnson {both built designed and by R. S. Aston, newly arrived Bakersfield builder, the latter with changes by Unangst, according to his daughter}]); and a cruciform plain-gable corner house (the 1902 Charles Porter House, 844 Upham, unlisted) near the Palmer House. Yet none of these has the high-peaked effect of the Smith and Palmer Houses, with their three-story height, acute gable angles, and single roof ridge echoing Bay Area examples. The architect of the Smith House, William Weeks, was based in Watsonville, did much work in the Bay Area, and would have been familiar with its Dutch Colonial style, as would his client LeRoy Smith, who had worked in San Francisco. I have been Page 69 of 76 20 able to find no information on John Horton, the Palmer House contractor, other than the 1903 article so do not know if he had Bay Area connections that would have led to this design, or if it was the Palmers’ initiative. Top: Bullard, Aston, and Porter Houses. Bottom: 3 “High-Peaked Colonials” of estimated 200 in Berkeley (Thompson, op. cit.) Note the steep pitches and (non-functioning) second partial story of the Berkeley examples above— emphasized even with multi-level dormers (whose upper levels appear also to have been non- functioning). 2709 Dana and 2716 Telegraph, the Berkeley examples at left and right above, have acute gable peak angles of 65° and 60°, respectively. The two photographs below show the Palmer and Smith Houses with peak angles of 75°. In contrast, the Aston House, with crossed peaked and gambrel roofs, and the Porter House, with crossed peaked roofs, each with their simple gables 90°, are Colonial Bungalows but outside the realm of the higher, more acute, and single -axis aesthetic that is specific to the turn-of-the-century Bay Area Dutch Colonial. Page 70 of 76 21 The Smith House (previous page, right) adds a jetty and window on the narrow third level, but it was built with nearly full-length shed dormers to make the half-story space function as nearly like a full story as possible. The smaller peaked dormers of the Palmer House (above left) are more in line with Bay Area models, which reflect the exterior structure on the interior. It does not have a gable-peak window or decoration, but it does have closet windows (previous page, center) in both corners of the gable base, front and back, a delightful and practical touch I have not seen elsewhere. The one in the right rear was originally incorporated in an ell bedroom but later separated. The Pierces are restoring the original configuration. Below: Dutch Colonial houses in San Francisco. Note the double peaks at left and right, as well as the center example with Tuscan columns characteristic of Colonial Bungalows, Ionic pilasters typical of Queen Anne, an Eastlake-style square bay, and an oversized Eastlake sunburst pattern in the gable. Work of a Master Though Harry Lyman would go on to be a master of the California Bungalow form, in 1903 he was just beginning his career in house building as an assistant carpenter, having passed his medical exam to enter the Southern Pacific machine shops two years before (“Harry Lyman,” San Luis Obispo Tribune, 8 Feb. 1901, p. 2). Thus the Palmer House would not qualify as the work of a master through Lyman. There is no other contemporary documentation on John Horton as a builder and none of an architect other than Horton, hence the building would not appear to be significant as the work of a master. High Artistic Standards The Palmer House has some admirable design touches, such as the closet windows in the gable base corners, but does not hav e unusually high artistic standards for Colonial Bungalows of the era. Information Potential There is no indication of potential for information important in history or prehistory in the property, though the owners continue to discover details on such features as single -sided pocket doors, paint, and wallpaper of interest to an architectural historian. Page 71 of 76 22 Integrity to Convey Significance NHL Bulletin: Guidelines for for Preparing National Historic Landmark Nominations (Washington, DC: National Parks Service, 2023 ), p. 64: The process of evaluating high integrity is not a matter of meeting or failing to meet a one-size- fits-all threshold, and should not be interpreted as, in the language of the federal regulations, establishing “a rigid standard for quality.” […] A property retaining a sufficiently high degree of overall integrity […] will possess most if not all seven aspects of integrity. Broadly speaking, having a high degree of integrity means that a property retains nearly all of those features and materials that would have characterized it during its period of significance. It is reasonable to expect that properties recognized for their […] significant stories would still possess those essential physical features necessary to tell these stories […]. Nevertheless, the qualitative framework provides some flexibility in how integrity is interpreted for a particular property. This replaces the definition that, for decades, made “high degree of integrity” for National Landmarks absolutely identical to “integrity” for the many -times-larger National Register (about 1,500 properties versus about 100,000) and was much ignored in practice, just as San Luis’s first admission to the Master List after imposing National Landmark standards, the Norcross House, had lost porch and fenestration and would go on to lose an original wing. Even the National Parks Service 2023 definition imposes three conflicting standards: • “most … aspects of integrity” • “nearly all of those features and materials that would have characterized it during its period of significance,” and • “those essential physical features necessary to tell these stories” As well, it hedges all three with “not … a one -size-fits-all threshold … [or] ‘a rigid standard for quality.’” With these varying definitions—and San Luis Obispo Landmarks’ and National Historic Landmarks’ varying precedents—in mind, the Palmer House retains those essential physical features necessary to tell its stories, nearly all of those features and materials that would have characterized it during its period of significance, and all seven aspects of integrity. Location The Palmer House occupies its original location. Design The original Bay Area Dutch Colonial Palmer House rises on two and a half sides (rear, southeast side, and partial street) somewhat like an ocean liner from the waves of low-pitch- roofed, one-story additions. The street view from the north corner (next page left) is exactly as the Palmers left it in 1921 and would be instantly recognizable to them, including the entry porch added by 1906 and dining-room canted bay by 1909. The 1982 photograph (next page, right, the same configuration as today but useful for the lack of obscuring shrubbery) reveals the extension and subsequent enclosure of the porch. The porch may well have been extended after the 1909 Sanborn Map and before the Palmers sold in 1921 but can only be documented by 1926. These additions tell the story of twentieth-century housing in San Luis, when three households occupied a building built for one, but they are not the story of the house’s significance related to its Dutch Colonial design and construction and occupation by District Attorney Charles and suffragist Ida Palmer. Page 72 of 76 23 That said, the Dutch Colonial profile still dominates, details like the dormers, Tuscan columns, diamond panes, and unique closet windows have been retained, and the design clearly retains its ability to convey its architectural and historical significance, particularly given that it has experienced addition rather than destruction. Jennifer and Lucas Pierce have, in fact already removed two anachronistic additions from the rear, one from the 1920s and one from the 1990s, and there is the restoration potential to remove more additions in the future, which is not the case (as in the Norcross House) with destruction of character-defining features. Materials The main house’s materials— including its novelty siding, casement windows on the second floor street facade, modillions, diamond-pane closet windows, Tuscan columns, etc.—have largely been retained. New sash windows have been installed on the second floor, but the ground floor original walls appear to have their original windows, as well as the original Colonial Revival front door. Above: The northwest façade’s original diamond-pane casement windows lighting the sitting hall (a revival of the baronial hall and intended exclusively for serving tea). Left: the hall’s original stained glass window. Page 73 of 76 24 Some of their diamond-pane-topped sash windows, characteristically Colonial Revival , may be originals that were reused on the additions; the 1906 photo is too distant to tell other than that they had similar dimensions and crown molding. The long rear addition also uses the se windows, however, which suggests they were still available in the 1920s and may not be original. The additions have covered original materials but have been clad in matching novelty siding. With the exception of a Streamline Moderne – style window in the front porch enclosure , the additions would all appear to the observer as original to the Colonial Revival era (and Colonial Revival in modified forms continued into the 1920s and 1930s). This would follow modern SOI Standards of compatibility of materials, features, size, scale, and massing but not of differentiation. (The 1983 surveyor did not note so probably did not notice the additions as such.) Above left: The shrunken baronial hall for tea-taking next to the fireplace, whose extant stained glass and diamond-pane casement windows beautifully express its function to the exterior. A similar room—borrowed from late-nineteenth-century nostalgic English country houses—exists in the 1906 Page House, 1344 Mill. The Bishop Peak granite perimeter foundation is in good shape, while the foundation of the rear bedroom addition—characteristically of early-twentieth-century San Luis concrete—crumbled to the touch. This is one of the additions removed by the Pierces. In order to restore the shingled gables to their original unfinished appearance, the old painted redwood shingles will have to be replaced by new cedar ones, as was the case with the entire wall surface of the LeRoy Smith House some years ago, which had been painted white by previous owners. Workmanship Like materials, much of the detailed original workmanship is retained , and much has been covered up on the ground floor by additions . In both cases, the effect is somewhat lenticular: original from some views, nonoriginal from others. In aggregate, however, there is clearly enough of the original materials and workmanship to convey the building’s significance. Setting The early-twentieth-century suburban setting has largely been retained, including Colonial Bungalows like the Aston and Porter Houses, Eastlake cottages like 1703 Chorro, and later low-built California Bungalows. The Palmer House originally occupied a corner lot, but it was built in narrow configuration on the interior half, presumably with the expectation that the lot would be subdivided (as it was after the Palmers sold it). Feeling As a combination of the previous five aspects of physical integrity, the feeling of the Palmer House remains intact. Despite the additions on the side and porch, its profile and details communicate its Colonial and high-peaked architectural significance. Association There is no question that, if District Attorney C. A. Palmer and his suffragist wife Ida Blodgett Palmer were dropped through time on the street in front of 1811 Chorro Street, they Page 74 of 76 25 would instantly recognize their house, though they might look askance at one side. The exterior and interior, through form and decorative detail, strongly convey their association with the Palmers and their activities. Page 75 of 76 26 Conclusion The Charles and Ida Palmer House is significant and rare as the earlier of two Bay Area Dutch Colonial houses in San Luis Obispo and as the residence of three-term County District Attorney C. A. Palmer and suffragist Ida Blodgett Palmer during their period of significance. Landmarkings for association with historically significant women have been exceedingly rare. Changes to integrity of design, workmanship, and materials outside its 1903–1921 period of significance are not substantial enough to prevent it from conveying its historical and architectural significance, and by the latest National Landmark definition it retains the high degree of integrity to convey its significance. As such, it is eligible for the Landmark status that will, for the future, preserve and tell its stories of early-twentieth-century progressive law enforcement, California’s successful 1911 women’s suffrage campaign, and the innovation of high-peaked Bay Area Dutch Colonial architecture. Page 76 of 76